Doctorate Housewife

What my degree in IPE didn't teach me about baking, DIY, fitness, and life…

Hello World

So… Why Doctorate Housewife you ask? Well, I spent many years studying and eventually earned my PhD in International Political Economy. I finished shortly before my husband and I got married. At that point, we were looking at renovating the house and we realised that it made more sense for me to stay home and manage that than to go out and try and find a job. He joked that I’d gotten my doctorate only to become a housewife and the doctorate housewife title kinda stuck. Early disclaimer – I’m no Martha Stewart! I do enjoy baking though and I’m getting better at the DIY. I decided to start this blog as a way to document my experiments, both in the kitchen and around the house.

So that you can get to know me, I thought I’d start with a few posts on my this past year’s projects and then move on to my plans for 2012.

In the meantime, here are some fun facts about me…

Location: I’m an American living in Brussels with my British hubby and two charming kitties

Current Obsessions: Zumba, nordic walking (speed walking with poles – how crazy is that?!), speculoos spread (sold as Biscoff in the USA – Belgium is the home of speculoos, yum!), and anything peanut butter and chocolate related, Removing wallpaper (We have this great old house, but it needs some love – particularly in the form of wallpaper removal)

Other interests include… health and fitness and finding ways to express spirituality in today’s modern world.

2 comments on “Hello World

  1. chocolateandmore
    October 13, 2012

    What a great way to get to know you. Cheers for Peanut Butter and Chocolate!

    • Jessi
      October 14, 2012

      Thanks =) And a definite yay to chocolate and pb!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 2, 2012 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , .

Navigation

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

