Doctorate Housewife

What my degree in IPE didn't teach me about baking, DIY, fitness, and life…

Cinnamon Roll Muffins

I love chocolate: chocolate and peanut butter, chocolate and Nutella, chocolate and speculoos (Biscoff), chocolate cookies, chocolate fudge, white chocolate, milk chocolate. Hubby jokes that I have four food groups: bread, fruit, cheese, and chocolate – hey I even moved to the land of chocolate. You get the point. So when a friend asked me to make dessert that didn’t involve chocolate I was left scratching my head, that is until I saw this recipe from Sugar & Bows for cinnamon roll muffins. Normally when the urge for cinnamon and sugar comes, I just don’t have the patience to sit and wait for the yeast to do its thing. But that’s exactly what makes this recipe so special – no yeast. The whole thing came together in 10 minutes and was on my plate in 25 (I had to make sure I wasn’t going to poison anybody after all  =p). Plus they were a hit at dinner. Check it out:

Here’s what you need (I modified Sugar & Bow’s recipe ever so slightly):

Muffins

  • 1 cup fat free yoghurt
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1tsp baking soda
  • 1 packet vanilla sugar (or 1tsp vanilla)
  • 1 egg
  • 3 cups flour

Filling

  • 5tbs butter
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 2 tsp cinnamon

Glaze

  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 packet vanilla sugar
  • 2-3 tbs milk

Here’s how you do it:

  1. Preheat oven to 190C (375F). Grease 12 muffin tin.
  2. In medium bowl, mix together all the muffin ingredients except the yoghurt and flour. Add the yoghurt then the flour. Make sure all the flour is well mixed in.
  3. Tip the dough out on to floured surface and knead for a couple of minutes. Roll into 12X24in rectangle.
  4. Spread with butter, then sprinkle the brown sugar and cinnamon on top.
  5. Roll dough into a log. Cut in half and then the halves in half again. Cut each segment into thirds. That should give you 12 pieces. Place in muffin tin and bake for 15 minutes.
  6. While in oven mix up the glaze.
  7. When done, pour glaze over top and serve (best enjoyed warm).

This is how I did it but I can think of some fun alternatives like caramelised apples in the filling, speculoos in the filling, and/or a peanut butter chocolate version (I enjoyed my roll with a special peanut butter frosting glaze – If you too are a peanut butter addict, you might like it. Take .5 tbs butter and melt with 2 tsp peanut butter. mix in .5 cup powdered sugar and 1tbs milk. Pour over the top and enjoy the yummy gooeyness of it all.)

9 comments on “Cinnamon Roll Muffins

  1. trialsinfood
    March 11, 2012

    they look yummy! i like the fact you don’t have to wait for the yeast to do its thing.

    • Jessi
      March 11, 2012

      I can confirm, definitely yummy =)

  2. emmycooks
    March 11, 2012

    From scratch in 25 minutes? Yum! And dangerous. 🙂

    • Jessi
      March 11, 2012

      Very dangerous… but worth every bite =p

  3. Jay
    March 14, 2012

    I’m the friend, I confirm, they were beyond delicious. Stealing the recipe now! 🙂

  4. Pingback: Temptation Tuesdays « Doctorate Housewife

  5. Sarah
    June 22, 2013

    Hi -I want to make these but we have different flour in England
    is the flour plain like we use to bake bread or does it have raising agents in it ?
    Thanks sarah

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 11, 2012 by in Baking, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

