Doctorate Housewife

What my degree in IPE didn't teach me about baking, DIY, fitness, and life…

My Garden (Backyard) Goals/dreams for 2012

Wallpaper done and gorgeous weather afoot, I’ve been thinking again about the garden (back yard) and my plans for it this year. I’ve bought a plum tree and some seeds and I’m excited about my ever greening thumb. (If you want to see how I went from a complete novice to being able to keep a plant alive, check out this link.) Here’s what I’m thinking for this year. I’m still a novice, so any ideas, comments, etc you can think of would be much appreciated.

Last year (with the help of a good friend) I took everything out, including 2 somewhat sickly pear trees. This year is about building back up and so when I saw this plum tree on sale, I knew I had to have it.

Seeds have also made their way back to the store shelves. I've picked up brocoli, beans, and strawberry seeds. Fingers crossed we'll get to eat some in a few months. (The egg carton is a tip from my friend De - eggcelent way to keep the baby plants from tangling around each other =p)

Last year I just had a couple of small planters, but this year I'm trying to be a bit more ambitious. Anybody built raised beds before?

I definitely want to add a bench swing. I'm not sure whether to buy or make. I'm also thinking about putting in a wood fence.

So, what do you think? What would you do?

13 comments on “My Garden (Backyard) Goals/dreams for 2012

  1. sharon
    March 23, 2012

    I think you mean “plum” tree. Good luck with all your garden plans. I’m starting a garden at a new (to us) home too. In one section I planted clover last autumn as a cover crop to smother out weeds and fix nitrogen. It’s regrouping very nicely now. The seeds I started are sprouting up nicely so far.

    • Jessi
      March 24, 2012

      You are correct. I must have been really tired when I put that up, thanks =) Good luck with your seeds!

  2. charlottelittlehales
    March 23, 2012

    Just stumbled onto your blog and also looked at last year’s “thumb greening” process. how inspiring! you did a great job. perhaps now i can transfer some of your ambition over to myself… 🙂

    • Jessi
      March 24, 2012

      Thanks! I was so amazed that I managed to keep anything alive that now I’m actually excited to try again this year. Good luck with your projects. I’ll happily share the ambition =p

  3. Patty
    March 24, 2012

    one comment – once you’re done with your garden project, please come by and continue with mine!!!

    • Jessi
      March 24, 2012

      Sounds like a plan =P

  4. Rachel @Peace, Love, Fabulous
    March 24, 2012

    l love your blog and as such, wanted to show you a little recognition! I nominated you for the Kreativ Blogger award, and you can pick it up here:
    http://peacelovefabulous.wordpress.com/2012/03/24/california-mega-millions-here-i-come/
    Keep up the amazing work!

    • Jessi
      March 24, 2012

      Wow, thank you. I’m so honoured! I’m flying home tonight (I spent this week with my parents as a surprise for their 40th anniversary), but I really look forward to doing it when I get back. Thanks so much – I’m really touched

  5. Pingback: Getting Started on the Garden « Doctorate Housewife

  6. Pingback: Bench Swings and Blueberries… « Doctorate Housewife

  7. Pingback: Garden Swing « Doctorate Housewife

  8. Pingback: Dumpster Diving « Doctorate Housewife

  9. Pingback: My CrossFit WOD (or raised bed part II) « Doctorate Housewife

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 23, 2012 by in DIY, Renovations and tagged , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

