Doctorate Housewife

What my degree in IPE didn't teach me about baking, DIY, fitness, and life…

GTKM – 2011 Fitness Wins and 2012 Goals

I’ve hesitated over blogging about fitness stuff and whether to stick to a DIY and baking theme. I was talking to a friend about it the other day, and she said that she couldn’t picture me without thinking about fitness and faith. So, I thought I’d give it a go, starting with fitness. This past week was a gorgeous. It saw our first days of Spring temperatures, and my first outdoor run of the year (I’m a wimp and stay on the treadmill in bad weather). What better occasion for a Get To Know Me (GTKM) post about fitness.

I’ll write about my fitness background later (when I get the chance to dig out the old volleyball and track photos), but for now suffice it to say that I grew up in an athletic family. As I grew up and left home, I stayed active in a variety of ways, but one of things I NEVER did and definitely professed to HATE was running (even when I did track I didn’t run – I was a jumper)… And then I moved to Brussels, where the annual 20k is a huge event – massive crowds, live bands, and over 30,000 runners. The longer I live here, the more people I meet who have done it at one point or another. Inspired by Carrots n Cake (a blogger I’d highly recommend), I eventually succumbed to peer pressure and decided that if I was going to live in Brussels permanently I was going to have to do it at least once. Logically speaking, it wouldn’t get easier as I got older, so in January 2011, I decided it would be my major 2011 fitness goal.

I started training, fought for 2 hours online to get one of the 30,000 spots, and then discovered that Mars (the candy company) was one of the sponsors. I joked that I was running the race for the free Mars bar upon completion. It wasn’t the whole truth, but it was definitely the best-tasting Mars bar I’ve ever eaten.  =p

In all the training, I surprised myself. It turned out, I like running. I’m not fast. In fact, I’m much slower than you’d guess, but I like it. So much so, that I decided to do a second event in 2011, the Brussels half marathon. I was equally slow (and also sick), but I finished strong and did it without stopping or walking (my main goal).

Apart from the 20k, I had two other 2011 fitness goals: try zumba and find a way to incorporate hiking into my workout routine. Well, I’m happy to report, done and done! I tried zumba and it’s awesome. If you haven’t given it a go, it’s really worth a try. And I found (with the help of a friend) a group of nordic walkers. What’s nordic walking you ask?

But really fast and with polls (or summer training for cross-country skiing). Think speed walking in the woods with polls and you’re just about there. =p

After the big 2011 goals, essentially starting 3 new sports: running, zumba, and nordic walking, my goals for 2012 are a lot more modest. I’d like to keep running, but get faster and compete participate in (at least one but hopefully a couple) of races. I’d also like to do more zumba, really make it regular, and keep up with the nordic walking. My plan is to exercise cardio 3-4 times a week: 1 nordic walking (2 hours in the woods each Monday) 1 zumba, and 1 run/gym. Plus one time pilates and one time strength (we have a total gym and I love it. Yes, that’s the one Chuck Noris promotes =p). So far, I’ve been doing pretty well at keeping it up. I’ve discovered it’s all about cementing the habits.

What do you like to do to stay in shape? Do you have a favourite exercise or like to mix it up? Write me a comment and let me know =)

2 comments on “GTKM – 2011 Fitness Wins and 2012 Goals

  1. Pingback: Bakemasters « Doctorate Housewife

  2. Pingback: Exploring the Green Belt « Doctorate Housewife

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 24, 2012 by in Fitness, Healthy Living and tagged , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

