Doctorate Housewife

What my degree in IPE didn't teach me about baking, DIY, fitness, and life…

Caprese Salad Bites – Easy Party Appetisers

Last week, I was in the States for my parents 40th wedding anniversary. My siblings and I threw them a surprise party. I was part of the surprise =p (hubby was supposed to come too, but he got the flu – bah to the flu). I flew in Saturday, stayed with my brother and while he distracted them, snuck over to my parents’ house Sunday morning to help my youngest brother and my sister prepare for the party.

When I got there she had a large box of plum tomatoes, two canisters of mini mozzarella balls, and a package of fresh basil waiting for me by the sink. She pointed in that general direction and said, “Get to it.” I made this a few years ago for a party and it quickly became a family favourite. Here it is, my signature party appetiser: Caprese salad bites. I love it because it’s so easy, looks great on a plate, and is pretty healthy.

Here’s what you need:

  • 500g plum or cherry tomatoes
  • 50 mini mozzarella balls
  • package of fresh basil
  • toothpicks

Here’s what you do:

  1. Wash tomatoes and basil.
  2. Take a tomato, cut it in half and stick it on the toothpick.
  3. Next add a small piece of basil to the toothpick, followed by the mozzarella ball, a second small piece of basil, and the other half of the tomato. Put on platter.
  4. Repeat with the remaining ingredients.
  5. Drizzle with olive oil (optional). Use the extra tomatoes and basil as garnish and watch the platter empty before your eyes.

Enjoy =)

5 comments on “Caprese Salad Bites – Easy Party Appetisers

  1. Pingback: Temptation Tuesdays « Doctorate Housewife

  2. Pingback: Temptation Tuesdays « Doctorate Housewife

  3. Pingback: Temptation Tuesdays « Doctorate Housewife

  4. Pingback: Party Appetisers – Cranberry Apple Brie Bites « Doctorate Housewife

  5. Pingback: Best of 2013 | Doctorate Housewife

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 26, 2012 by in Dinner, Healthy Living, Recipes and tagged , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

