Doctorate Housewife

What my degree in IPE didn't teach me about baking, DIY, fitness, and life…

Saying goodbye to a favourite ingredient =(

I had decided what I wanted to bring home from the States. I had already dreamed up loads of recipes to try. I could practically taste the yumminess, and then I turned the package over (sigh)…

I’m generally of the opinion that all foods can be enjoyed in moderation, but there’s one ingredient that is permanently on my banned list – partially hydrogenated oils. I’ve been on a “No hydrogenated oils” kick for a long time, but it was recently cemented when I read “Coffee is Bad Good for You” By Robert J Davis, PhD. (I’ve mentioned the book before and I have to say I really do love it. If you’re looking for something to break through the hype in food and nutrition standards with real solid studies, then this is the book for you.)

Partially hydrogenated fats are created in a process that makes vegetable oil solid at room temperature. They keep food creamy and increase shelf life, but they also increase LDL (bad cholesterol), decrease HDL (good cholesterol), and probably raise triglycerides too. Unfortunately the FDA says that anything with less than .5g of trans fats can be labeled trans fat free, which means that you may be getting a lot more than you bargained for. The only way to be sure is to take anything with partially hydrogenated oils out of your cart and put it back on the shelf. And so, with great sadness, I had to say goodbye to two of my favourite candies (both contenders for the coveted space inside my suitcase and both that perfect mixture of peanut butter and chocolate)…

Bye-bye peanut butter M&Ms - I'll miss you =(

Pooled results from 4 cohort studies suggest that even small quantities pose a risk... RIP reeses pieces =(

I couldn’t leave the store empty-handed though. So I got pretzel m&ms instead (and of course I brought home more of the bags of candy corn that Julie got for me).

And I found just the recipe for them. Later this week I’ll blog the recipe and photos =) Have you been forced to give up any of your favourite treats? Comment and let me know.

NOTE – partially hydrogenated fats and fully hydrogenated fats are NOT the same thing. Though they are the result of the same process, fully hydrogenated fats mean saturated fat (not great, but recent studies suggest may not be as bad as once thought) while partially hydrogenated fats mean trans fat (potentially dangerous even in small doses).

7 comments on “Saying goodbye to a favourite ingredient =(

  1. Julie R
    March 29, 2012

    So sad! As someone who’s given up a lot of different foods for health, I feel your pain! I guess you’ll have to make your own 😉 perhaps you can make healthier candies

    • Jessi
      March 29, 2012

      Aww thanks Jules. So sad, but I accept your challenge =) Now to make homemade peanut butter m&ms!! (Well I just whipped up a batch of peanut/cashew butter. So I have a start…)

  2. Patty
    March 30, 2012

    I fully agree with you on a more informed choice towards food – as you can see, there will always be a consolation prize for the “goodies” you let go… I’ve also “had” to let go of many food staples, both sweet and savoury, in my quest to go back to an ingredient list that shows some resemblance to nature and not to chemistry class…

    • Jessi
      March 30, 2012

      Well done you! It’s never easy giving things up, but I agree it’s best to eat foods that have recognisable names =p

  3. Pingback: Temptation Tuesdays « Doctorate Housewife

  4. Pingback: Homemade Peanut Cashew Butter « Doctorate Housewife

  5. Pingback: Best Books of 2012 « Doctorate Housewife

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 29, 2012 by in Baking, Healthy Living and tagged , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

