Doctorate Housewife

What my degree in IPE didn't teach me about baking, DIY, fitness, and life…

Your boiler on drugs…

Yup, today was part two of my plumbing course. Today’s topics: radiators, heating systems, hot water production, copper piping, and evacuation pipes. As I’m coming to expect from the Brico courses, it was super hands on. We got to cut, solder, and play with all the different pipes. See look!:

We also got a clear idea of the possibilities and how to fix some of those annoying plumbing pet peeves. For example…

If your hot water is coming all the way from the boiler in the basement to the shower on the second floor, then you’re going to end up wasting all the water in the distance of pipe between the two points. But, not if you create (ok, loose translation coming…) a hot water circuit. Essentially by adding in an extra length of pipe and a pump, you can have a constant supply of hot water in the pipes, ready and waiting for you to turn on the shower. It takes a bit of electricity to run the pump, but you can turn it off at night or when you’re not in the house. The rest of the time it saves you from shivering while you wait and saves water in the process – SCORE!

What about this one?:

This seems to be especially a problem in evacuation pipes, like when the dishwasher is emptying. It seems you have an air problem, but don’t worry – it’s an easy fix. Add this cute little ventilation cap to the existing pipe set-up and you’re good to go!

Well, this is the end of my Brico DIY classes for the year. I’ve taken both electricity and plumbing. They also offer decoration (painting, wallpaper, drywall, etc) and wood work, which I’ll probably try to take in 2012. If you live in Belgium, all I can say is go for it, and don’t forget to sign up early. The courses have already paid for themselves in electrician’s fees I didn’t have to pay…

Have you learned anything new and unexpected recently? (I never thought I’d be in a plumbing course) Join the conversation and let me know…

2 comments on “Your boiler on drugs…

  1. Patty
    April 16, 2012

    Yes, I’ve learned a very important lesson: I too need to get this course asap! (in the meantime, could you come check my radiator please…)

    • Jessi
      April 16, 2012

      Definitely sign up! What’s wrong with your radiator?

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 14, 2012 by in DIY and tagged , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

