Doctorate Housewife

What my degree in IPE didn't teach me about baking, DIY, fitness, and life…

What does 65 calories look like?

Have you ever wondered what 65 calories looks like?

Do you know what else it looks like? 10g of peanut butter, about 10 large strawberries, 1 cup chopped broccoli, half a yummy chocolate chip cookie. Nutrition and health really interest me and I’m always looking for ways to make my daily diet better. One simple trick to cut calories and increase nutrients is to increase the veggies. Having mac&cheese? Don’t give it up, just add a cup of broccoli and you’ll end up eating less of the pasta and cheese while getting your vitamins. Want your meat and potatoes, no problem – just make sure that half the plate is veg. My goal for the month – make sure that both lunch and dinner have at least two vegetables. So far, so good.

What’s your nutrition goal?

3 comments on “What does 65 calories look like?

  1. A tale of three cities
    April 22, 2012

    My favourite trick is pizza. I top a (home-made) base with all the grilled vegetables I have at hand, sprinkle a little cheese (to justify the term pizza) and presto – one of my favourite comfort foods just became healthy!

    • Jessi
      April 22, 2012

      Yum – I love homemade pizza!!

  2. Pingback: Temptation Tuesdays « Doctorate Housewife

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 20, 2012 by in Healthy Living and tagged , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

