Doctorate Housewife

What my degree in IPE didn't teach me about baking, DIY, fitness, and life…

Homemade Butterfinger Test

I love living in Belgium, but there’s a few comfort foods that I miss from time to time. One of them is Butterfinger. You remember my love obsession with the delectable combination of peanut butter and chocolate, right?! =p So I’ve been scouring the web for fun homemade Butterfinger receipes and I thought I’d test a few.

The first is Plain Chicken’s simple 3 ingredient mock Butterfinger. It requires candy corn, which normally would be impossible for me, but Julie hooked me up with a year’s supply =p So basically…

You’d be surprised how much it really does taste like Butterfinger. The one thing is that you have to keep it in the fridge to get the crispiness right. Otherwise it ends up more chewy.

On the purely from scratch front, there’s Not Without Salt’s recipe, I’ve been waiting to make this one until I picked up a candy thermometer. And happily I scored one on my recent trip to the States. So here it is…

It hardened so quickly that instead of uniform bars, I ended up with random sized pieces, but that was ok. What wasn’t ok, was that it didn’t really taste like Butterfinger =( It was more like chocolate covered peanut brittle. Don’t get me wrong, it was chocolate peanut buttery goodness, but it wasn’t Butterfinger… The search continues I guess…

3 comments on “Homemade Butterfinger Test

  1. Pingback: Temptation Tuesdays « Doctorate Housewife

  2. Pingback: Peanut Speculoos Caramel Butter (and cookies) « Doctorate Housewife

  3. Pingback: An Ode to Peanut Butter – National Peanut Butter Lover’s Day « Doctorate Housewife

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 26, 2012 by in Baking, DIY, Recipes and tagged , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

