Doctorate Housewife

What my degree in IPE didn't teach me about baking, DIY, fitness, and life…

More Thumb Greening

Brussels weather is like London and Seattle in that we have essentially one season. In something like 9 out of 12 months, the temperature stays between 10-20C and… it rains at least once a day – not necessarily all day. In fact not even most of the day, but it is always often cloudy. Don’t get me wrong, the sun does make an appearance from time to time, and when it does us bruxellois make sure to get outside and soak up the vitamin D… but that’s another story. Because today I want to talk about the rain, otherwise known as what it’s done most everyday for the last 2 weeks. So, when I finally got a window of a couple hours of solid dry, it was time to plant. My little pumpkin seeds were bursting out of their tiny pots and the blueberries were really looking for a permanent home. Check it out:

I noticed with the pumpkin seeds and my other window plants that the one in the mini greenhouse did MUCH better, so I put on my thinking cap…

I hoping it’ll do the trick, but I’ll let you know. If you’re interested in making your own egg carton green house, all you need is an egg carton, scissors, tape, and perforated plastic wrap (the kind they sell for use in microwaves – I bought it by accident once and am now searching for ways to use it =p)

Once I finished with all that, I got down to a drilling task that’s been on my to do list for a long time…

I’m kinda new to the drilling (just got one in the Fall), so every project is still a learning adventure, but worth it, see:

So much better! I think my thumb has been sufficiently greened for the day. Now fingers crossed the plants will actually grow!

2 comments on “More Thumb Greening

  1. Pingback: Dumpster Diving « Doctorate Housewife

  2. Pingback: My CrossFit WOD (or raised bed part II) « Doctorate Housewife

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 5, 2012 by in DIY and tagged , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

