Doctorate Housewife

What my degree in IPE didn't teach me about baking, DIY, fitness, and life…

Homemade Peanut Cashew Butter

If you’ve been reading my blog for any length of time, there’s at least one thing you know about me – I love peanut butter. Mix it with pretty much anything and I’m happy. Add bread and a banana, call it lunch. Add an apple, call it a snack. Add chocolate, call it dessert. Add nutella, speculoos spread, and ice cream, and call it heaven. Anyway… one of the few downsides to living in Belgium is that peanut butter is not the same kind of cultural icon as it is in the States. Accordingly, it doesn’t have the same kind of shelf space in the supermarket. In lieu of practically an entire aisle of different varieties and brands, there’s just this sad little display in the import section:

Plus each of these tiny jars costs almost 4euros. To make matters worse, hydrogenated oils make the ingredient list. =( (If you want to read why I’ve eliminated these from my diet…) For my first couple years in Belgium, I was forced to give up peanut butter completely – tear =(. Then I met hubby and found British peanut butter. It’s not quite the same, but it was a good substitute. Anytime we visited the UK, I made sure to pick up a few jars. Then I realised just how easy it is to make!! Home made peanut butter has lots of advantages:

  1. I don’t have to wait till we go to the UK to get more.
  2. I know exactly what’s in it.
  3. I can play around with fun extras like honey or white chocolate.
  4. Peanuts are super cheap – like less than 50 cents a bag!
  5. I discovered the yumminess that is peanut cashew butter =D Check it out…

Here’s what you need:

  • 1/2 cup cashews
  • 1 cup peanuts
  • 1 tbs honey
  • (optional if your peanuts are dry – 1 tsp vegetable oil)
  • earplugs (grinding peanuts is NOT a quiet process)

Here’s what you do:

  1. Collect ingredients. Put in earplugs.
  2. Throw nuts into the food processor. Pulse until nuts become like sand.
  3. Let the processor run for several minutes, scraping down sides when necessary.
  4. With machine running, add honey.
  5. Process for an additional couple minutes until it reaches your preferred consistency.

NOTE – I Prefer smooth peanut butter, but if you’re going for crunchy, start by following this process. Then, at the end, mix in some crushed peanuts.

Enjoy =)

Print recipe

9 comments on “Homemade Peanut Cashew Butter

  1. Jenny
    May 10, 2012

    I love peanut butter. This looks like something gun to try. Thanks. : )

    • Jessi
      May 10, 2012

      And it’s super easy! I swear it takes less than 10 minutes from getting out the processor to doing the dishes =)

      • Jenny
        May 10, 2012

        Awesome! (and I totally meant to type fun… not gun. oops, lol)

      • Jessi
        May 10, 2012

        tehee =p

  2. Pingback: Temptation Tuesdays « Doctorate Housewife

  3. Pingback: Cookie Pie « Doctorate Housewife

  4. Pingback: Peanut Butter Cup Cookies « Doctorate Housewife

  5. Get pinterest followers
    March 6, 2013

    Wow i am really impressed by your article, i was wondering may i use your article in my upcoming book, by your kind permission??

    • Jessi
      March 6, 2013

      Email me and we can discuss it. Thanks for your interest.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 10, 2012 by in Recipes and tagged .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

