Doctorate Housewife

What my degree in IPE didn't teach me about baking, DIY, fitness, and life…

Orange Cinnamon Corn Crumb Cake

When I visit the States, there’s a list of things I must eat. Near the very top of that list is a warm toasted corn muffin. Ask my brother  – I make him take me to the diner every time. We sit in a booth out of a 1950s movie and catch up. It’s one of my favourite parts of the visit. Another thing I really love… Entenmann’s Ultimate Crumb Cake. As a kid, the fun desserts that mom picked up from the store depended on the coupons. My favourite coupon – 2 for 1 Entenmann’s pastries. My favourite Entenmann’s pastry – Ultimate Crumb Cake!! One time, my friend and I sat around the kitchen table chatting and ended up eating almost the entire thing. I kept cutting insisting that the remaining edge be straight and she kept making it crooked. What’s a girl to do?!

Well anyway, I had some leftover OJ and a brainstorm: orange cinnamon corn bread. And then when I got down to making it, I had a better brainstorm: orange cinnamon corn crumb cake. The house smells delicious and my afternoon snack was out of this world!

Here’s what you need:

  • 1/2 cup cornmeal
  • 1 cup flour
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • pinch salt
  • 60g butter (melted)
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • CRUMB TOPPING
  • 3/4 cup flour
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 tbs cinnamon
  • 100g butter melted

Here’s what you do:

  1. Preheat oven to 160C
  2. Combine dry ingredients.
  3. Mix melted butter and brown sugar till it gets kinda caramel-like.
  4. Add egg and OJ.
  5. Combine with dry ingredients.
  6. Mix crumb topping
  7. Pour into prepared pan. Spread crumb topping over batter and bake for 20 min.
Best served slightly warm with a small tab of butter – yum!
Print Recipe
5 comments on “Orange Cinnamon Corn Crumb Cake

  1. Pingback: Temptation Tuesdays « Doctorate Housewife

  2. Pingback: Apple Crumb Cake « Doctorate Housewife

  3. Pingback: Breakfast in Bed for your Sweetie – Waffles for One « Doctorate Housewife

  4. Pingback: Apple Caramel Cookie Crumb Bars | Doctorate Housewife

  5. trkingmomoe
    March 11, 2014

    I am going to try this one. I have cornmeal that needs to be used up. Thanks for sharing. I booked marked it.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 21, 2012 by in Baking, Recipes and tagged , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

