Doctorate Housewife

What my degree in IPE didn't teach me about baking, DIY, fitness, and life…

Garden Swing

This last week, we’ve been basking in the sunshine. Today the clouds are coming back. I can feel the air getting heavy. Thunderstorms are coming. But the weather was great while it lasted and I have made some headway in my 2012 Garden Plan. Here’s a reminder of the project:

Well, the plum tree has been planted and so far it looks like it’s flourishing. Blueberry plants are in a nice raised bed and I actually have some baby berries on the way. And now the bench swing is up. It came in a giant and massively heavy box all the way from England! My in-laws kindly got it for us and brought it over on their last visit. I think the project struck their fancy. Unfortunately though, with all the rain the various pieces have been hiding in the basement…

That is until last week, when the sun began to shine…

The instructions were mostly clear… First I built the seat:

Then the A frame, the bench frame, and the sun shield and put them into place

Then the directions got a bit less clear and I needed an extra set of hands. So hubby helped me finish it over the holiday weekend. Here it is:

It’s perfect! Now I just have to see if the wifi stretches that far =p tehee.

5 comments on “Garden Swing

  1. Julie R
    May 30, 2012

    I LOVE it! Wishing you wonderfully restful times on your new swing!

  2. Patty
    May 31, 2012

    Congrats! I hope it stops raining by Tuesday!

    • Jessi
      June 3, 2012

      Meteo looks promising =)

  3. Pingback: Dumpster Diving « Doctorate Housewife

  4. Pingback: My CrossFit WOD (or raised bed part II) « Doctorate Housewife

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 30, 2012 by in DIY and tagged , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

