Doctorate Housewife

What my degree in IPE didn't teach me about baking, DIY, fitness, and life…

English Muffin Seedy Bread

This is my first real attempt at a loaf bread. I’ve done all sorts of quick breads, muffins, and cakes. I’ve made pizza dough, biscuits, tortillas, and even English muffins. I’ve tried my hand at bagels, pretzels, and focaccia. I’ve even had an obsession with challah for awhile. But for some reason bread, real bread – sandwich bread has always seemed too difficult. I told myself that without a bread maker it would be too much work, that I was too lazy to wait for it to rise, that I would do it next time. Well, Tuesday we ran out of bread, I didn’t want to go to the store, and I saw my opportunity. I’ve been bookmarking bread recipes for ages. One that particularly struck my fancy was English muffin bread. But I wanted something a little healthier, a little more filling… and so I added and modified and ended up with a dense and delicious, ridiculously hard to resist bread. I’m calling my first “real” bread attempt a success =D

Here’s what you need:

  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 cup wheat bran
  • 1/4 cup wheat germ
  • 1/4 cup lin seeds
  • 1/4 cup sesame seeds
  • 2 tbs poppy seeds
  • 2 tbs oats
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 1 tbs instant yeast
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 2 tbs oil
  • cornmeal (for pan)

NOTE – for the seeds bit, feel free to add, subtract, or substitute your favourites.

Here’s what you do:

  1. Whisk together dry ingredients in medium bowl.
  2. Mix liquid ingredients and heat (in microwave or over stove) until it reaches between 120-130F
  3. Add liquid to dry and beat (in stand mixer on high for 1 min or) with wooden spoon for several minutes. Dough will be wet and sticky.
  4. Turn into bread pan (pre-greased and sprinkled with cornmeal). Let rise for about an hour until dough reaches the lip of the pan.
  5. Bake at 190C (400F) for 20-30min or until bread reaches an internal temperature of 190F.
  6. Let bread cool completely (after 5 min in pan, cool on wire rack) before slicing.

Print Recipe

What recipe have you been putting off? Leave a comment, let me know, and then start baking!

4 comments on “English Muffin Seedy Bread

  1. myhealthyohana
    May 31, 2012

    Looks great, and so healthy!!

    • Jessi
      June 3, 2012

      Thanks. I was really surprised by how well it worked =)

  2. Pingback: Temptation Tuesdays « Doctorate Housewife

  3. Pingback: Temptation Tuesdays « Doctorate Housewife

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 31, 2012 by in Baking, Healthy Living, Recipes and tagged , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

