Doctorate Housewife

What my degree in IPE didn't teach me about baking, DIY, fitness, and life…

Buckwheat Quinoa Pesto Summer Salad

Ever tried buckwheat? Until last week, neither had I. I’d used buckwheat flour. It’s great for pancakes! But I’d never tried the real thing. So when I saw it in the supermarket I knew I had to give it a go. Despite its name, it’s naturally gluten-free. I love my gluten (carbs glorious carbs), but not all my friends can handle it. So when one of them came over for dinner, I decided to experiment.

The buckwheat by itself seemed kinda boring, so I cooked up some quinoa and made a broccoli basil pesto and before I knew it, it started to come together. Check it out:

Here’s what you need:

  • 1 1/2 cups uncooked buckwheat
  • 3/4 cup uncooked quinoa
  • 400g turkey, cut into bite-size pieces
  • big handful fresh basil
  • 2 tbs pine nuts
  • 1 cup chopped broccoli
  • 2 tbs olive oil

Here’s what you do:

  1. Cook the buckwheat according to package directions. Transfer to large salad bowl. Rinse the pan out and use it to cook the quinoa. Add to salad bowl.
  2. Sauté the turkey. Add to salad bowl. Mix well.
  3. While it’s cooking, combine basil, pine nuts, broccoli, and olive oil in food processor until smooth. Add to salad bowl. Mix until well combined.
  4. Enjoy =)

Print Recipe

3 comments on “Buckwheat Quinoa Pesto Summer Salad

  1. myhealthyohana
    June 13, 2012

    I’ve never had buckwheat before, this sounds delicious!

  2. Pingback: Temptation Tuesdays « Doctorate Housewife

  3. Pingback: Bakemasters White Elephant Dip Party « Doctorate Housewife

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 13, 2012 by in Dinner, Healthy Living, Recipes and tagged , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

