Doctorate Housewife

What my degree in IPE didn't teach me about baking, DIY, fitness, and life…

My CrossFit WOD (or raised bed part II)

Lately I’ve been seeing a lot of buzz about CrossFit. If you haven’t heard of it, CrossFit is… well, kinda hard to describe, (though Tina from Carrots N Cake does a pretty good job). They do a lot of lifting of random objects and fun, playground-style workouts. Everyday they have a new workout, which they affectionately call their Workout of the Day (WOD). Friday I had my own WOD. In CrossFit, the WODs always have fun names, so I’m going to call mine “The Great Garden Haul”. Actually, it reminded me of this one. This is how it works:

Topsoil 40/100/4

Lift 40L bag of topsoil out of car, down one flight of spiral stairs, 100m through basement, empty into raised bed. (repeat 4 times) This workout is not for time =p

Somebody’s been eating my cucumber plant, grrr! So I finished my WOD by fortifying my vegetable bed.

All the rain has also been good for my other veggies. Check out the parsnips.

The garden project is almost done for the summer – woot! Raspberries will get planted in the Fall and I’m thinking about another fruit tree or two in the Spring. We decided against the wooden fence that was in the original plan because it would cut too much light. In case you missed some of the process, here are some previous posts.

Oh, and guess what?!… I’m super exctied – my CD case hack made it onto IKEA Hackers!!!

4 comments on “My CrossFit WOD (or raised bed part II)

  1. myhealthyohana
    June 25, 2012

    Wow, great job on your garden!! I love parsnips, how do you know when they’re ready for picking?

    • Jessi
      June 25, 2012

      That’s a good question. I’m going to have to find out…

  2. Pingback: Kitchen Updates « Doctorate Housewife

  3. Pingback: A Step Further « Doctorate Housewife

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 25, 2012 by in DIY and tagged , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

