Doctorate Housewife

What my degree in IPE didn't teach me about baking, DIY, fitness, and life…

Kitchen Updates

Now that the garden project is pretty much done for the summer it’s time to start the next project. I’ve been scanning around and trying to decide, but I think it’s time to deal with some smaller projects that have been hanging around for awhile. So I went back to the kitchen to tackle some loose ends.

The first was super simple. Our trash can has been rubbing against the wall and tearing a hole in the paint.

I thought about wrapping the sharp part in some kind of foam, but then I found this… 

It even matches!

On to problem number two.

Something the kitchen fitters should have done, but didn’t, was caulk. They didn’t caulk anywhere. When I painted the kitchen I filled in the gaps, but clearly I missed a spot.

I learned how to do it last year (largely from youtube videos =p) It’s pretty simple. First tape along the line, then draw your caulk gun down along it. Use a wet finger or wet cloth to smooth the line. Leave for a few minutes, then remove the tape. Smooth again if there are any gaps.

Two down, many more little projects to go… stay tuned =)

5 comments on “Kitchen Updates

  1. Patty
    July 5, 2012

    is there ANYTHING you can’t do???

    • Jessi
      July 5, 2012

      I can’t sing – though I do occasionally try =p

  2. Pingback: Getting the Hang of It… « Doctorate Housewife

  3. Jenny
    July 12, 2012

    I’ve never heard of using tape. That’s a great idea so you don’t have to scrape if you make a mistake.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 5, 2012 by in DIY and tagged , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

