Doctorate Housewife

What my degree in IPE didn't teach me about baking, DIY, fitness, and life…

Getting the Hang of It…

Since painting the kitchen and the bathroom, the walls have stayed empty. Procrastination and uncertainty took over, but now as part of my July “tackle small projects” goal, these sad empty walls are getting some loving. First things first, what to put on them? I decided to go with something that mixed personal memories and beautiful scenery. So I had some pictures printed up from our honeymoon and our trip to the Alps. Then I went to Ikea and picked up some frames. With all the elements finally in house (I had to order the prints twice, because apparently people who measure frames and people who measure photos don’t have the same idea of what 5×7 means. Anyway…) I gathered my hanging supplies and started on the lounge floor bathroom (*see note)

I used this great trick that I read about on a blog ages ago. I’m sorry if it was on your blog and I just don’t remember. It’s an awesome trick – I thank you for it.

Here’s what you need:

  • newspaper or printer paper
  • masking tape (painter’s tape)
  • pencil
  • scissors
  • whatever it is you actually want to hang on the wall (in my case pictures)
  • hammer & nails

Here’s what you do:

  1. Trace the shape of what you want to hang onto the paper.
  2. Cut it out.
  3. Use masking tape to stick it to the wall, where you think you might like your pictures. Step back and see if it looks right.
  4. Not yet? Move the paper around, step back, and repeat until you find just the right spot for your picture.
  5. Leaving the paper on the wall, hammer in your nails (or drill in your screws or whatever you need to do).
  6. Remove paper. Hang pictures.

And voilà, you’ve been able to try all sorts of configurations without damaging the paint or needing a 6 foot long arm. And there’s something super homey about actually having some life on the walls. Here it is, the final product:

* Being an American, married to a Brit, living in Brussels, sometimes leaves me with strange linguistic challenges. This one for example – what do you call the little room where you go to… um, powder your nose? Well, I grew up calling it a bathroom, but this seems to confuse the Brits because, well, it doesn’t have a bath in it.  Loo is quite fun to use, but hard to do without giggling or singing “skip to my lou”. I get some serious teasing for using it when I’m actually in the States. Toilet, though appropriate in Belgium (in both French and Dutch) is considered kinda vulgar in good old New England. WC isn’t used in the States. Powder room isn’t used in England. Rest room gets funny looks in England because people assume you’re talking about a living room. Ahh the chaos. What’s a girl to do? So, for the sake of my sanity, I’m going with bathroom, even though this is technically a half bath, you know, with no actual bath.

One comment on “Getting the Hang of It…

  1. Pingback: A Step Further « Doctorate Housewife

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 9, 2012 by in DIY and tagged , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

