Doctorate Housewife

What my degree in IPE didn't teach me about baking, DIY, fitness, and life…

Cake Fest =)

yum cake =)

This week I had two good reasons to make cake – a birthday and a going away party. Any reason to make cake is good enough for me. So I got to work. For the going away cake, I went with one of my favourites: a low-fat, super moist chocolate raspberry cake with cream cheese frosting. And for the birthday, an apple coffee cake. I also took the opportunity to do something I’ve been really wanting to try…

Here’s the chocolate cake. It’s a recipe I’ve worked really hard on to make a healthy, but still tasty.  The final product is an airy, moist, and seriously chocolatey cake. The raspberries complement the dark chocolate perfectly – got to be one of my favourite flavour combinations.

When I’m baking, I try not to waste anything. So when I leveled off the bottom layer to get it ready to frost, I saved the top. I turned it into crumbs, mixed it with the leftover frosting, and coated it with the leftover chocolate from my play session. Voila bonus cake balls. You can save them for later or use them to help decorate the cake. Check it out =)

Here’s what you need:

  • 3/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup stevia
  • 1 cup cocoa powder
  • 1 cup skim milk
  • 1/2 cup no sugar added applesauce
  • 1 tbs baking powder
  • 2 tbs vanilla
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup frozen raspberries
  • FROSTING
  • 8oz cream cheese
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 4 cups powdered sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla

Here’s what you do:

  1. Preheat oven to 170C/350F. Grease 2 8in round cake pans.
  2. Mix wet ingredients in a medium bowl. Combine dry ingredients in a small bowl. Fold together.
  3. Split the batter between the two cake pans. Dot raspberries into the mix. Push them down so mostly covered.
  4. Bake for 20 minutes.
  5. While cake is baking. Make frosting and refrigerate.
  6. Let cakes cool completely. Level and frost.

Print Recipe

For part II of the cake fest, I’ll blog the apple crumb cake tomorrow. In the meantime, enjoy =)

8 comments on “Cake Fest =)

  1. thegoodieplate
    July 14, 2012

    I love this. It looks delicious and you did a fantastic job decorating!

    • Jessi
      July 14, 2012

      Thanks! I had such fun doing it =)

  2. Pingback: Apple Crumb Cake « Doctorate Housewife

  3. Pingback: Temptation Tuesdays « Doctorate Housewife

  4. That’s a really pretty cake! I love what you did with the raspberries!

    • Jessi
      July 18, 2012

      Thanks, they’re my favourite part. I love the tangy sweetness against the chocolate.

  5. Pingback: Kitchen Sink Cake « Doctorate Housewife

  6. Pingback: Blast off to the Moon « Doctorate Housewife

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 14, 2012 by in Baking, Recipes and tagged , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

