Doctorate Housewife

What my degree in IPE didn't teach me about baking, DIY, fitness, and life…

Slow Cooker Giveaway

Doesn’t this look like a great slow cooker?! It’s got a spoon rest, serving spoon, and unique lid that makes traveling with this it a dream. The handles fold in and there’s even a spot for a recipe name tag. How great is that for potlucks!

Slow cooking is an easy way to make healthy meals a reality, especially if you struggle to find the time. With the right recipe, all you need to do is throw stuff in the pot and turn it on in the morning. By the time you get home, voilà – healthy, hot, delicious dinner.

So, do you want it??? It could be yours. SlimKicker contacted me to offer one lucky reader this awesome slow cooker! What’s SlimKicker you ask? Let me tell you.

It’s an awesome new app for phone or computer that combines nutrition, fitness, and games. At base, it’s a calorie counter that turns your diet and fitness goals into a level-up game. There are points, rewards, challenges, even prizes to help keep you motivated. Video game fan? Then this is the nutrition app for you! There are also groups and forums to keep you accountable and encourage you when you’re feeling down. And SlimKicker has recipe suggestion too, including those that are Weight Watchers and Medifast friendly.

My favourite part is the challenges. They range from things like “no soda” to “exercise before Facebook”. Each lasts 7-30 days. They’ve kinda inspired me to think of some of my own. A couple I’ve been trying this week are “only fruit for snack” and “put on your sneakers” (i.e. make sure you move every day)

I hope the challenges have been inspiring you too, because that’s how you’ll win the slow cooker. SlimKicker is looking for some new challenges – nothing fancy just a sentence or two of a fun and creative fitness or nutrition goal. To participate in the contest, all you have to do is leave a comment with your challenge. SlimKicker will pick their favourite and the winner will be announced next week. (Sorry, US residents only)

Good luck!

 

14 comments on “Slow Cooker Giveaway

  1. jennifer young
    July 18, 2012

    5 sit-ups/ cruches every time you recieve a text message on your phone

  2. Rachel Atkison
    July 18, 2012

    eat a piece of fruit before having dessert.

  3. Emily Heiden
    July 18, 2012

    Park in the farthest spot away from the entrance when you go to the store.

  4. Nick Hanzel
    July 19, 2012

    How ’bout: no processed foods for a week or a month, only fresh produce, whole grains, etc.?

  5. amy marantino
    July 19, 2012

    my challenge is to add a ten minute cooling off period before having a snack or treat, to see if the impulse passes with time

  6. cynthia1987
    July 19, 2012

    Hmm.. so my idea for a slimkicker challenge is to give up coffee for a week or even a month if you want. Coffee may not be as bad as soda, but too many ppl rely on it everyday, when we should strive for “natural” ways to feel awake like exercising or sleeping more.

  7. Lana
    July 19, 2012

    Hey Jessi! How about “drink water and eat your veggies (or fruits) first”. That way you are sure to be drinking enough water, getting enough (naturally) colored foods in your diet, and won’t have nearly as much room or the appetite for less healthy stuff 🙂

  8. Kelly Young
    July 20, 2012

    My challenge is to make more protein rich meals that don’t necessarily include meat. I think people are very reliant on meat as a staple for most meals and I’m extremely guilty of this. I would like to be more creative about the ingredients I use for protein and find some fun “meatless” recipes.

  9. Julie R
    July 20, 2012

    How about “fresh air before TV?” That one would certainly be a good one for me 🙂

  10. Amanda
    July 23, 2012

    I joined – like you I think the challenges look kind of fun. Also, some of them are easy – since I don’t have a TV and only watch TV while on the elliptical at the gym, I have “Move on commercial breaks” down!

  11. Kate E
    July 23, 2012

    Turn off your phone for an hour or so a day and go do something active! I know I’m guilty of being too connected and I know I’d be mentally and physically healthier if I could do this.

  12. Pingback: Temptation Tuesdays « Doctorate Housewife

  13. Pingback: And the winner is… « Doctorate Housewife

  14. Pingback: My healthy living August Challenge « Doctorate Housewife

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 18, 2012 by in Healthy Living and tagged , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

