Doctorate Housewife

What my degree in IPE didn't teach me about baking, DIY, fitness, and life…

Biscuits – the best part of KFC

I’m not really a fast food person. Even as a kid I had trouble with food that tasted more like cardboard and chemicals than, say food. But there was one fast food side that always had my heart. For our family, KFC meant Summer picnics, most often at the beach. We’d get a family sized bucket (there were 6 of us) plus some cole slaw (which I avoided like the plague – ick), and biscuits. Each box contained only 6 – one for each of us (but you had to act fast before someone grabbed two =p)

.

Me, my dad, and cousin.

Coming from New England, KFC was my only exposure to these bits of wonderful buttery flaky goodness. That is until I went to University in Virginia. There I could have one every morning, cover it in honey butter, and call it breakfast. It was pretty wonderful. When I did my year abroad in France, my friend Ciara and I took a trip to Barcelona. Yes there was lovely culture and art and architecture, like this…

…but mainly we went for a taste of home. Barcelona had Starbucks, Ben & Jerry’s, Pizza Hut, Dunkin Doughnuts, and you guessed it KFC. Well, we hit Starbucks for coffee, Dunkin Doughnuts for breakfast, Pizza Hut for lunch, and Ben & Jerry’s for dessert. Finally it was time to get one last snack before hitting the train – biscuits. And then I discovered the sad truth: KFC in Europe doesn’t sell biscuits =( Now that I live in Belgium, I’ve had to learn to make my own. There are loads of biscuit recipes out there on the web. Here are two of my favourites. Check it out:

Fluffy Biscuits (source Cook’s Illustrated)

  • 1 cup all purpose flour (I like to play with the flours. Last time for a half batch I used 3/4 cup whole wheat pastry flour, 1/4 cup corn flour – not meal, 1/4 cup wheat germ
  • 1 cup cake flour
  • 2tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 1/2 tsp table salt
  • 1/4 lb unsalted butter (113g) chilled and cubed
  • 3/4 cup butter milk (or 3/4cup + 2 tbs of low fat milk or plain yoghurt)
  1. Set oven to 220C
  2. Pulse dry ingredients in food processor.
  3. Add butter, pulse until mixture has only a few slightly large butter lumps. Don’t over pulse.
  4. Add buttermilk. Process until dough forms a ball.
  5. Remove and form into 12 small balls (trying not to touch the dough too much)
  6. Bake for 8-10 minutes

Best Drop Biscuits (source Cook’s Illustrated)

  • 2 cups flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1 cup buttermilk (I use a milk/yoghurt mixture)
  • 8 tablespoons unsalted butter (melted and cooled)
  1. Set oven to 220C.
  2. Whisk dry ingredients in large bowl.
  3. Combine buttermilk and melted butter in large measuring cup (or small bowl). Stir until butter forms small clumps.
  4. Add wet to dry and fold together until just incorporated. Avoid over stirring.
  5. Dump large tablespoons of dough onto baking sheet.
  6. Bake for 12-14 minutes.

The second recipe is definitely less fuss, less mess and beautifully soft and doughy. The other is more traditional. It holds better to my memory of those wonderful KFC beach picnics of yore =) Tip – biscuits are best just out of the oven. They get stale very quickly. Also you can sub margarine for butter or use 1/2 fat butter without changing the taste too much.

Print Recipes

7 comments on “Biscuits – the best part of KFC

  1. myhealthyohana
    August 3, 2012

    A warm biscuit with butter and strawberry jam is one of my favorite breakfasts…we just made some last weekend 🙂 I’ve never tried the Cooks Illustrated versions!

    The difference b/w fast food places in various places is interesting…wonder why they don’t sell biscuits at KFC in Europe? I remember that McDonalds in Japan had curry bowls, and the McDonalds in Hawaii sells portuguese sausage, eggs, and rice as a breakfast!

    • Jessi
      August 4, 2012

      Yum yum! It’s weird about fast food places. One thing I have discovered in some of my travels is that McDonalds is normally a good bet for a cleanish bathroom =p

  2. RachelG
    August 4, 2012

    It’s too bad you’ve never had a Bojangle’s biscuit — heaven! If you ever make it to NC, you should find one. I’ve been looking for a good biscuit recipe, so I’ll have to try this!

    • Jessi
      August 4, 2012

      Yet another reason to visit NC. Friends were just recommending it to us laster night. We’ll have to get there sooner or later.

  3. Pingback: Temptation Tuesdays « Doctorate Housewife

  4. Ciara Kamara
    August 20, 2012

    ahhh! the memories!! Only the two of us would take a four hour train ride for Starbucks and KFC-hehe.. I can’t wait to try this recipe!

    • Jessi
      August 20, 2012

      Tehee, it was such an awesome trip!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 3, 2012 by in Recipes and tagged , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

