Doctorate Housewife

What my degree in IPE didn't teach me about baking, DIY, fitness, and life…

Tempting Tidbits Trials – Honey Whole Wheat Oat Bread

Welcome to the second installment of Tempting Tidbit Trials, where I try out the recipes I’ve featured on Temptation Tuesdays. This time I’m trying out My Healthy ‘Ohana’s Honey Whole Wheat Oat Bread.

I have to say I agree with her – it’s simple and delicious! (Hubby gave it two thumbs up.) It looks amazing, all golden brown and grainy – it’s a bread you’re proud to serve. And the smell as I took it out of the pan – wow! If you could bottle that and sell it, you’d be a millionaire. It was just like walking past a boulangerie at (French bread bakery) at 5am.

Cutting into it, this bread gets better. It’s full of nooks and crannies to soak up melted butter, or (my preference) peanut butter and honey. Plus, the bread had real staying power. It kept for 4-5 days without once tasting stale. My one complaint is that it was a bit too chewy for me. This often happens to breads and cakes that don’t have any fat. To solve this, I’d add a tbs spoon of melted butter or oil to the yeast mixture. That way, I think it’d be near perfect. I’m definitely making it again!

Wanna make it too? This time I’ll use teal to indicate my modifications and notes. (Last time I found that the parentheses just blended into the background.)

Here’s what you need:

  • 1 1/2 cups warm water (about 50C)
  • 1 packet active dry yeast
  • 1 tbs honey
  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup old fashioned oats
  • 1 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tbs butter (melted)

Here’s what you do:

  1. Heat oven to 350F (175C)
  2. Mix warm water, honey, and yeast in small bowl. Leave yeast to bubble for 10 minutes. I like to use my measuring cup. Here is the one major change I’d make. Instead of using the melted butter to line the pan, I’d add it to the yeast mixture. This should make the bread less chewy.
  3. While this is happening, grease loaf pan. I’d use PAM.
  4. In medium bowl, combine flour, oats, and salt. Pour in the yeast mixture and mix well.
  5. Place dough into pan, cover with towel, and allow to rise for 30 minutes. I left mine for an hour, because not much had happened after 30 minutes.
  6. Bake for 35-40 minutes. Serve and enjoy (best warm)

Print Recipe

4 comments on “Tempting Tidbits Trials – Honey Whole Wheat Oat Bread

  1. Tina
    August 6, 2012

    Home made is the best! So much better than the store bought stuff that’s got ingredient lists full of words I can’t pronounce. And nooks and crannies….yum!

  2. myhealthyohana
    August 6, 2012

    Glad you liked it! I’ll have to try it again with your modification, everything’s better with a little butter 🙂

    • Jessi
      August 6, 2012

      Agreed – gotta love a little butter =)

  3. Pingback: Temptation Tuesdays « Doctorate Housewife

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 6, 2012 by in Recipes, Tempting Tidbit Trials and tagged , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

