Doctorate Housewife

What my degree in IPE didn't teach me about baking, DIY, fitness, and life…

White Chocolate and Cookies Cake with Butterscotch Frosting

A friend of mine had a birthday and I was asked to make the cake. I wanted to make something a little different and fun and I’d been wanting to try this butterscotch recipe for awhile. So I had a brainstorm – white chocolate cookie dough cake with a crumbed cookie crust and butterscotch butter cream frosting. It’s quite a mouthful, both literally and figuratively speaking.

I started with a package of chocolate chip cookies. My original plan was to break them up into chunks and scatter them into the cake mix, but I wasn’t paying close enough attention to the food processor. Instead of chunks, I ended up with crumbs. Disappointing, but certainly not the end of the world. It was time for plan B: a chocolate chip cookie crumb crust. I melted some butter, mixed it with the crumb and pressed it into the 8in round mould. Then I stuck it in the freezer while I whipped up the cake batter. I went with the recipe from these white chocolate chip cupcakes, since they were so amazing last time. I pulled the mould out of the freezer and poured in the batter. (It’s quite thick, best to use a deep pan) Then into the oven it went for about 30 minutes.

In the meantime, it was time to make the filling and the frosting. The filling was cookie dough frosting, again the recipe from these cupcakes. That done, it was time play with butterscotch. The recipe was super easy. Once it was done and slightly cooled, I added an additional 1/4 cup cream and 3 cups of powdered sugar, mixed it up and voilà yummy frosting! Check it out:

*I’ll explain on Friday so stay tuned =)

Here’s what you need:

Cookie crust

  • package of chocolate chip cookies
  • 50g butter
White chocolate cake

  • 1 cup flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup white chocolate chips (about 200g- melted)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup sour cream (I used 125g low fat natural yoghurt)
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 tsp vanilla
Cookie dough frosting

  • 113g butter
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 3-4 tbs sweetened condensed milk
  • mini chocolate chips (I used chopped milk chocolate with hazelnuts)
Butterscotch Frosting

  • 1/4 cup unsalted butter (I used half fat butter)
  • 1 cup cream (I used 20%)
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 3 cups powdered sugar

Here’s what you do:

  1. Crush cookies into crumbs. Melt 50g butter. Mix into crumbs. Press into 8in springform. Put in freezer.
  2. Preheat oven to 160C  Make cake batter: Mix dry ingredients. Then add wet ingredients until just combined. Pour into springform. Bake for about 30 minutes  until toothpick comes out clean.
  3. Make cookie dough frosting. Cream butter, sugar and salt. Add sweetened condensed milk until you get desired consistency. Add chips.
  4. Make butterscotch: Melt butter in medium saucepan. Add sugar, ½ cup cream, and salt. Whisk till blended. Leave to boil for 3 minutes. Remove from heat. Stir in vanilla. Once cool add remaining cream and powdered sugar.
  5. Once the cake is cool, cut it in half. (Ikea sells a great tool that looks like a giant cheese cutter which works great) Spread the cookie dough frosting on the bottom half. Put the top half back on.
  6. Frost with butterscotch buttercream. Decorate as desired.

Enjoy =) Print recipe

The cake worked out really well, the flavours complementing each other better than I expected. What’s your favourite kind of cake? Leave a comment and start the conversation! =)

9 comments on “White Chocolate and Cookies Cake with Butterscotch Frosting

  1. Tina
    August 29, 2012

    Oh yay, the chocolate sprinkles! 🙂 Can’t wait to read about it on Friday. My favorite kind of cake is carrot cake, and this gooey chocolate cake that’s very common in Sweden called “Kladdkaka” (which directly translates as “gooey/sticky cake”)

    • Jessi
      August 29, 2012

      Gooey sticky chocolate cake sounds amazing!

  2. myhealthyohana
    August 30, 2012

    Wow!! I love white chocolate and mixed with cookie dough and butterscotch…amazing! 🙂

    • Jessi
      August 30, 2012

      Thanks! I think it’s my new favourite =p

  3. Pingback: My First Foodie Pen Pal « Doctorate Housewife

  4. Pingback: Temptation Tuesdays « Doctorate Housewife

  5. crazyforcrust
    September 11, 2012

    This looks beyond amazing!

    • Jessi
      September 11, 2012

      Thanks – it was seriously yummy! =)

  6. Pingback: Kitchen Sink Cake « Doctorate Housewife

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 29, 2012 by in Baking, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

