Doctorate Housewife

What my degree in IPE didn't teach me about baking, DIY, fitness, and life…

My First Foodie Pen Pal

Did you ever have a pen pal as a kid? I did. We were assigned one in school and for awhile we wrote each other real letters on real paper. But eventually it fell out of fashion. Moving to Europe, I’ve had a couple pen pals over the years, friends tickled by the quaint old-fashioned virtues of pen and paper. Well, last month I discovered that snail mail is not dead. In fact, it’s been given a blogging boost with a programme called Foodie PenPals.

The idea is simple. Each month you get a name and an email address (someone else gets you). Your first job is to make that person a care package full of foodie goodness and send it to them before the end of the month. Your second job is to open the package sent to you, revel in it’s wonders, and blog about it on the last work day of the month. I did the first job and now it’s time for the second – check out my first Foodie PenPal Parcel:

It comes from a blogger named Tina. Tina lives in Sweden and blogs over at Fashtastic – cue bad pun. It’s fantastic =p It’s full of fashion, and photos, and fun. Go check it out, but before you do, check out the awesome package she sent me:

Isn’t it awesome?! Thanks Tina!!! My brain whirled as I tried to think of something terribly creative to do with my first Foodie PenPal parcel. In the end, I decided to go with another first for me. I made my first chocolate bark. Chocolate bark is sold in fancy chocolate stores for ridiculous sums of money, but it’s astoundingly easy to make, especially if you have some super yummy trail mix and a bit of chocolate. Here’s how it works:

I used the sprinkles in the white chocolate cookie cake with butterscotch buttercream that I posted the other day. I’m looking forward to drinking the tea and I should confess that I’ve already eaten the chocolate. I think I’m going to like this Foodie PenPal programme! If you want to join too, just click on the badge at the top of this post.

15 comments on “My First Foodie Pen Pal

  1. Tina
    August 31, 2012

    Yay, I’m glad you liked the package I put together for you, and you made excellent use of it all!

    • Jessi
      August 31, 2012

      Really thanks so much- I had so much fun with it! =)

  2. Pingback: Foodie Pen Pals August 2012 «

  3. myhealthyohana
    September 1, 2012

    Great idea with the chocolate bark, that would be a really nice gift too 🙂 What a fun program, may have to check it out!

    • Jessi
      September 1, 2012

      Thanks, I’ve seen it all over the web and been meaning to try it for ages. It’s so easy and really yummy.

      The Foodie PenPal thing is such fun. For the US version (the original), hop over to The Lean Green Bean

  4. unlacingmycorsetstrings
    September 3, 2012

    Oooh I will have to check this out 🙂 Might wait until I move to London though as I’ll have more time to be creative!

    • Jessi
      September 3, 2012

      Do it – it’s so much fun! When are you moving?

      • unlacingmycorsetstrings
        September 4, 2012

        Start my new job on Monday so will start looking then – hoping someone will need a flatmate because flat shares scare me (I’m too old). Bah-was so looking forward to buying a house! But am sure it’ll be grand. Great idea this foodie pen pal – wish I’d thought of it!

      • Jessi
        September 4, 2012

        Me too! Good luck with the new job and the apartment search. Sorry the house hunting has to wait. =(

  5. Pingback: Temptation Tuesdays « Doctorate Housewife

  6. Rock Salt
    September 5, 2012

    A brilliant parcel, it’s so exciting to see members all over Europe sharing their favourite treats!

    • Jessi
      September 6, 2012

      Thanks for including us. There are so many giveaways and programmes limited just to the US/Canada… And this is so much fun. Thank you for coordinating!!

  7. Pingback: Temptation Tuesdays « Doctorate Housewife

  8. Pingback: My September Foodie PenPal « Doctorate Housewife

  9. Pingback: Foodie PenPal January (plus Crumb Cake!) « Doctorate Housewife

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 31, 2012 by in Baking, Foodie PenPal, Recipes and tagged , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

