Doctorate Housewife

What my degree in IPE didn't teach me about baking, DIY, fitness, and life…

My Healthy Living September Challenge

Last month I decided to start sharing my healthy living challenges with you. I told you about my “lacing up my sneakers” challenge from July and my “no seconds” challenge for August, which involved trying to keep my plate looking more like this:

 

and less like this:

Well, August is over and it’s time to report. First, the good news:

Day 89 - After The Run

(Photo credit: slgckgc)

The good news is that my “lacing up my sneakers” challenge from July is turning into a real solid habit. I logged 28 workouts this month, an improvement from July’s 25! Basically the idea is to move everyday. It doesn’t have to be a 5 mile run or an hour of zumba. All I have to do to get the point is 10 minutes. It can be cardio, strength, yoga, pilates. Most days I get more than 10 minutes. But on crazy busy days, it’s nice to know that I can still squeeze in a workout. I used to give up on exercising for a particular day if I didn’t have time to get at least 20-30 minutes plus a shower. But now that I don’t feel guilty for a “short” workout, I actually move more overall. And I’ve noticed that my resting heart rate has decreased, but perhaps more important, I feel like I’ve missed something if I don’t do it. My body wants to move!

English: Half a dozen home-made cookies. Ingre...

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

More good news: the “no seconds” habit was awesome for the first 18 days!  I had my treats (oh yummy treats) and then I put the box away. I got to enjoy my favourite sweets without the sugar coma (or worse sugar hangover) that comes with not being able to stop at 1.

Less good news: Then my routines got shaken up. We had visitors, weddings, work on the house and I struggled a bit. In the end I was successful 24 out of 31 days. Not bad, but I want to do better. I want “no seconds” to become a habit, just like “lace up my sneakers” is.

So this month, in order to help me solidify my “no seconds” habit, my healthy living challenge for September is to have “fruit snacks”, no not the gummy candy (that would be counterproductive =p), but make sure that my afternoon snack is composed of fruit. I find it easier to stop at one treat if that treat is at the end of a meal. When that treat is in the middle of the afternoon, for some reason, for me, it’s a lot harder. So this month, I’m going to try and fuel my body right by making sure that my snack is fruit. I’ll let you know how it goes =)

Fruit Platter

(Photo credit: Kenski1970)

Do you have any healthy living goals for the new month or new school year? Share them in the comments and we can encourage each other! Oh and if your healthy living challenge involves exercise and you have a smart phone, check out this cool app. Now integrated with RunKeeper, you can bet yourself that you’re going to work out and make money when you do!

8 comments on “My Healthy Living September Challenge

  1. Patty
    September 6, 2012

    I’m going to take up your August challenge and twist it to my problem area: cheese! So, for September there will only be one cheese portion per day (1 slice / 1 piece / 1 portion of cheesy gooeyness…). Think it’s easy? I can assure you it’s not!!!

    • Jessi
      September 6, 2012

      Yay Patty! That’s a great idea =)

  2. myhealthyohana
    September 7, 2012

    I’m going to try to cut back on desserts…when I was pregnant, I was eating at least one dessert per night, and my sweet tooth has gone out of control! One dessert per night is plenty, and just like you, I’m going to try to substitute fruit 🙂 Thanks for the inspiration!

    • Jessi
      September 7, 2012

      That’s awesome! i have such a hard time with my sweet tooth. It encourages me to know I’m not alone =)

  3. Xi Lin
    September 8, 2012

    Congrats for all the good new and habits settled in your life! I feel the same way about doing workout–once you kept it routine for about two weeks, you feel like can’t stop!
    Keep on the Sep challenge! Look forward to read your good news!

  4. Pingback: Car Free Sunday « Doctorate Housewife

  5. Pingback: October Healthy Living Goals « Doctorate Housewife

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 6, 2012 by in Fitness, Healthy Living, Nutrition and tagged , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

