Doctorate Housewife

What my degree in IPE didn't teach me about baking, DIY, fitness, and life…

Kitchen Sink Cake

I thought about titling this post with all of the elements to this cake, but that just got ridiculous.  Basically it’s a leftover cake or a kitchen sink cake, kinda like my leftover ice cream cake. I made it for a friend’s birthday. She’s got a love for speculoos and chocolate and well all things yummy =p Her birthday fell right after a Bakemasters night. So, everything I had leftover from the Chocolate Day party went into it. It starts with the leftover cookie dough that lined the bottom of the springform pan. Then moves on to a batch of my low fat chocolate cake recipe, but instead of raspberries, I threw in leftover no-bake cookie bars. I put that into the pan and then added the leftover butterscotch. Once the cake was baked, I put the Speculoos jar in the microwave for 20 seconds and poured a large chunk of it’s contents on to the still hot cake. Once cooled, I removed the springform, cut it in half, spread a layer of Speculoos spread, followed by a layer of Nutella on the bottom half. Then put the cake back together and spread Nutella around the sides. I finished it off with a nice birthday message and some sprinkles. I guess you could say it’s a chocolate chip cookie, chocolate butterscotch, white chocolate cookie bar, speculoos, nutella cake. It’s quite the mouthful… both literally and figuratively =p Leftover creations are the best!

 

What are your favourite things to throw in a cake?

6 comments on “Kitchen Sink Cake

  1. Pingback: Temptation Tuesdays « Doctorate Housewife

  2. myhealthyohana
    September 20, 2012

    Wow, what a construction, I love it! Your friend is very lucky 🙂 Wish I could have a slice of that right now!

    • Jessi
      September 20, 2012

      Thanks. It was hard to resist cutting into it =p

  3. alotonyourplate
    October 1, 2012

    I love how clever this is! 🙂

    • Jessi
      October 1, 2012

      Thanks. It was so much fun to do =)

  4. Pingback: ... And The Winner Of This Month's A Lot On Your Plate Bake-off Is... | A Lot On Your Plate

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 17, 2012 by in Baking, Recipes.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

