Doctorate Housewife

What my degree in IPE didn't teach me about baking, DIY, fitness, and life…

Blast off to the Moon

A friend of mine has twins who recently had a birthday. She asked me to make the cakes. Last year they turned 3 and it was all about Mickey & Minnie:

 

I’m normally pretty good at making cakes tasty, but making cakes pretty is more of a challenge. I never did very well in art class, math class sure – all As, but art class, well I got an A for effort. I’d like to get better, but my typical plan is cover cake with as much frosting, caramel, and candy as possible and hope no one notices the sloppy and/or unimaginative decoration job. This usually does the trick. But with kids and birthday parties, first impressions matter. With the cake olympics I got a chance to practise my cake puzzles:

And this year our new 4 year olds wanted rocket ships and Hello Kitty. Here’s the story of the rocket ship:

First I checked with Uncle Google and found two awesome plans: Rocket ship cake from Parenting Magazine and this rocket ship from from Betty Crocker. They even have a video and some great tips. I decided to do something that combined the two. Then I got to baking. I made one of my favourite chocolate cake recipes. Then I whipped up some nutella peanut butter frosting (basically mix equal parts nutella and peanut butter with enough powdered sugar to get the consistency you want) for the glue and a standard cream cheese frosting to frost (because I needed something I could dye blue). Time to start the puzzle.

 

I was really pleased with it. It was fun, super easy, and the kids loved it. And I think I’m getting a bit better at the decorating =) Practice makes perfect I guess.

17 comments on “Blast off to the Moon

  1. imarunner2012
    September 20, 2012

    Very creative. My kids were lucky to get a fun-fetty cake and not have too many crumbs stuck in the frosting.OL

    • Jessi
      September 20, 2012

      Thanks. It’s amazing the gems hidden on the inter-webs. It was so much easier than I feared =)

  2. Patty
    September 20, 2012

    that’s really great Jessi! I bet the kids will themselves be over the moon!

  3. I can tell you for sure that the cakes were a HIT!! (as the proud mother of above mentioned twins!!) They were talking about it for days and ate 3 servings in a row~~ (note: only for their birthday)
    (note 2: mummy greatly enjoyed the cake balls that came with!!)

    • Jessi
      September 20, 2012

      Awww thanks =) So glad they liked it!!

  4. myhealthyohana
    September 21, 2012

    Great job!! I am also artistically challenged, but you give me hope 🙂 Someday I’ll have to start making these kinds of cakes for my kids!

    • Jessi
      September 21, 2012

      It’s such fun. They’d probably really enjoy doing it with you =)

  5. Urban Running Girl
    September 25, 2012

    How fun is that! I think any kid (both big and small) would enjoy a rocket ship cake!

    • Jessi
      September 25, 2012

      Thanks. It definitely made the adults smile too =)

  6. Pingback: Temptation Tuesdays « Doctorate Housewife

  7. Pingback: Hello Kitty Caramel Cake with White Chocolate Frosting « Doctorate Housewife

  8. Pingback: Temptation Tuesdays « Doctorate Housewife

  9. Pingback: Temptation Tuesdays « Doctorate Housewife

  10. Pingback: Temptation Tuesdays « Doctorate Housewife

  11. Pingback: Temptation Tuesdays « Doctorate Housewife

  12. Pingback: Temptation Tuesdays « Doctorate Housewife

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 20, 2012 by in Baking and tagged , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

