Doctorate Housewife

What my degree in IPE didn't teach me about baking, DIY, fitness, and life…

Hello Kitty Caramel Cake with White Chocolate Frosting

Remember last week, the Blast Off to the Moon cake? Well, you can’t have one cake for twins. Each one needs to feel special and that means each one needs a cake all their own. The first request was a rocket ship and the second was Hello Kitty. Given that the rocket ship was chocolate, I decided to go for something different and made a caramel cake with white chocolate frosting and a speculoos crumbs filling. Flavour decided it was time to figure out how to do it. I went back to Uncle Google and found all kinds of ideas before finally deciding on a stencil.

Once the cake was done and cool. I popped it out of the pan and cut out hello kitty from this picture. Then I used a bread knife to cut it into two layers. I frosted the inside with white chocolate spread and sprinkled lots of speculoos (biscoff) cookie crumbs. I put the other half of the cake back on top, frosted the whole thing with white chocolate spread and lined the sides with Hello Kitty shaped animal crackers that I happened to find at the store. To make the cake more 3 dimensional, I used the scraps of cake leftover to make Hello Kitty’s bow, glued it on with the frosting, and frosted it in white icing. Then I took a pink chewy candy, flattened it with my rolling pin and cut out the bow shape. Finally I lined it using a pink icing pen. Peanut M&Ms were the perfect size and shape for the eyes and nose. The whiskers are done in melted dark chocolate. If her face was anything to go on, all this work yielded one happy 4 year old customer =) What do you think?

The cake recipe is one that I’m really proud of. I adapted it from Martha Stewart’s caramel cake using my favourite caramel sauce recipe (from Annie’s Eats). You’ve heard me rave about it before. I used it in this recipe and this recipe and even this recipe. Anyway, here it is. Hope you like it =)

Here’s what you need:

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 1/4 cup caramel sauce
  • 2 cups flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 eggs

Here’s what you do:

  1. Preheat oven to 190C (375F). Line 8x8in square pan with parchment paper.
  2. Beat butter in medium bowl till it starts to get fluffy. Add sugar and continue to beat. Add 1/4 cup caramel sauce. Beat eggs and stir into batter.
  3. In a separate bowl mix dry ingredients.
  4. Alternate adding dry ingredients and remaining caramel, starting and ending with flour.
  5. Bake for 25 minutes. Cake is done when center springs back when touched.

Enjoy =) Print recipe

17 comments on “Hello Kitty Caramel Cake with White Chocolate Frosting

  1. melodiefaith
    September 27, 2012

    I love your cakes!! They always sound so amazingly yummy! I’ve been inspired to attempt a truly gooey chocolate cake for national chocolate week – 8-14 October. Ps I recently encountered this kids cake for birthdays malarky too; I found it extremely time-consuming contrary to what I initially thought it would be. Guess that amounts to the philosophy that with practise one can only become better and quicker at it….here’s a link to my recent birthday kid baking and making too if you fancy a peak 🙂 http://hairbugbig.blogspot.co.uk/

    • Jessi
      September 27, 2012

      Thanks! Wish you were here to taste them. Looks like your train cake worked out. I love the Oreo wheels =) You’re totally right though. Speed comes with practice.

  2. melodiefaith
    September 27, 2012

    I wish I was too! 🙂

  3. Pingback: My September Foodie PenPal « Doctorate Housewife

  4. Pingback: Temptation Tuesdays « Doctorate Housewife

  5. Pingback: Temptation Tuesdays « Doctorate Housewife

  6. Pingback: Temptation Tuesdays « Doctorate Housewife

  7. Pingback: Temptation Tuesdays « Doctorate Housewife

  8. Pingback: Temptation Tuesdays « Doctorate Housewife

  9. Pingback: Temptation Tuesdays « Doctorate Housewife

  10. Pingback: Temptation Tuesdays « Doctorate Housewife

  11. Pingback: Temptation Tuesdays « Doctorate Housewife

  12. Pingback: Temptation Tuesdays « Doctorate Housewife

  13. Pingback: Temptation Tuesdays | Doctorate Housewife

  14. Pingback: Temptation Tuesdays | Doctorate Housewife

  15. Pingback: National Cake Decorating Day | Doctorate Housewife

  16. Pingback: Best of 2013 | Doctorate Housewife

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 27, 2012 by in Baking, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

