Doctorate Housewife

What my degree in IPE didn't teach me about baking, DIY, fitness, and life…

la Bruxelloise

Last Sunday Team Bakemasters participated in a local all-girls running event called La Bruxelloise as a lead up to the relay marathon we’ve been training for. It was great! The idea of the event was to inspire women to get out there and exercise. There were three distance options (3,6,9k), all of which started at the same time and in the same place. It meant that friends could run together even if they were doing different distances. I thought that was awesome.

6 of our tuesday night dessert group went out for the run. We did different distances, cheered each other on, and finished the whole thing with a brunch at one of the girls houses.

And look, we’re on TV. Just follow the ridiculously green coat and blue headband around the warm ups. Plus we’re standing right behind the woman who won the 20k while she’s being interviewed =p.

The run itself was really hard for me. I haven’t felt well through a lot of September and the work on the roof has made it difficult to train. When I started running and struggled, I figured it was just that. I ran the slowest 9k I think I’ve ever run and when I stopped my vision immediately blurred. Then I knew what was really wrong – migraine!

I’m trying to smile, but I’m really struggling =(

 

 

As the blood rushed through my head, my field of vision shrunk to a small circle of what was directly in front of me, surrounded by rings of splotchy blurs. I rejoined the other girls and pretty much collapsed on the ground. After a couple of minutes, I managed to pull myself together enough to try and make a move. Walking was hard, but luckily hubby and one of the other girls husbands helped me back to the apartment.

Step 2 in migraine land (not my favourite place to be) is to lose feeling in half of my body. Normally that’s my hand, my arm, my face, sometimes my tongue. It’s a super weird and pretty disconcerting feeling. My vision tends to return to normal as I lose feeling, but my brain kinda shuts down. It’s like I can feel the synapses missing their marks as I search for words (simple basic words) just out of reach. I know what I want to say, but when I try to say it, the sentences just don’t come together and I end up sounding drunk. Meanwhile the headache starts, it’s a sharp pain on one side of my head (the word migraine comes from the greek for half skull). If I don’t manage to get it under control before it gets too bad, then the vertigo comes on. I get incredibly sensitive to light and noise, and any movement causes me throw up. Happily that didn’t happen this time.

Controlling a migraine is a tricky thing, but for me stretching my neck, relaxing my back, and sitting in half pronate kind of position tends to help. I also have to mentally stop. I can’t try and push through what I’m doing, especially if it involves focussing my eyes on anything. But I also can’t lie down. I made this mistake several times when I first got migraines. For whatever reason, lying down brings on the vertigo almost every time. Once the migraine is over, I get a hangover – nausea, a dull headache, and a sharp pain anytime I change elevation (stand up, sit down, tie my shoe – that’s the worst!)

Unfortunately doctors don’t really know what causes migraines and there isn’t even any good medication to deal with it. There are pain killers and anti-nausea medication, but those just treat the symptoms. Lucky though. I don’t get migraines very often. Massive changes in air pressure and hormone changes tend to be my main triggers. Anybody have any tips in how to deal??? Anyway, fingers crossed they stay far away for the ekiden…

Go team Bakemasters! I’m so proud of you guys =)

11 comments on “la Bruxelloise

  1. Patty
    October 1, 2012

    Cudos for the mega-trainer of Bakemasters (and more) Jessi! Thanks go first and foremost to you and your endless passion and persistence!!!

    • Jessi
      October 1, 2012

      You’re too kind =) T’is a pleasure!

  2. myhealthyohana
    October 2, 2012

    Aw, I’m so sorry that you had such a massive migraine, sounds awful! I’ve actually never had one, but my husband did once and thought for a second he was going blind, because he actually lost just his vision for a few seconds, so scary! I’m hoping that more research can be done to figure out exactly how we can prevent migraines from happening! Hope you are feeling better now and getting lots of rest 🙂

    • Jessi
      October 2, 2012

      Thank you. As you know from your husband, they can be really scary. The first time it happened I didn’t have a clue. I spent about an hour thinking there was something stuck in my eye blocking my vision. Then I lost feeling in half my body and knew something else must be wrong. I’m hoping for more research too! For the moment they don’t know what causes migraines or even really how they work. =( Luckily I don’t get them very often. I hope it stays a one time thing for your husband!

      • myhealthyohana
        October 2, 2012

        Thanks, I hope you don’t get another one for a very long time! They think it is vascular in nature, but not sure how to apply that to effective therapies…hopefully in the future.

  3. Urban Running Girl
    October 2, 2012

    My sister suffers from extreme migraines. She struggles to get a hold on them even though she has seen several doctors. Hope you are feeling much better!

    • Jessi
      October 2, 2012

      Thanks! I know I’m really lucky that I don’t get them more often, or for that matter worse. My thoughts go to your sister. Has she she found anything that helps?

      • Urban Running Girl
        October 2, 2012

        Different meds I think help a bit but they carry other effects to her that she doesn’t like.

      • Jessi
        October 2, 2012

        Grrr. It’s so frustrating!

  4. Pingback: Muffins and brunch « Doctorate Housewife

  5. Pingback: We Ran a Marathon! « Doctorate Housewife

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 30, 2012 by in Bakemasters, Fitness and tagged , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

