Doctorate Housewife

What my degree in IPE didn't teach me about baking, DIY, fitness, and life…

October Healthy Living Goals

Well, here we are again. Another month has passed and it’s time to check in. First a quick look back at the September healthy living challenge. My September challenge was to limit my snacks to fruit only.

English: Fruit bowl - containing pomegranate, ...

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Well, unlike my August healthy living challenge, it didn’t go so well. I logged 15 days, half the month, and less than I’d hoped. I also fell off the wagon in my exercise, dropping to 16 days. My “no seconds” rule did a bit better at 22 successful days. I can make excuses. I was sick; the work on the house wore on me; the “back to school” rush overwhelmed me, but whatever the reason (and it is worth looking at what went wrong) I have to face the fact that I didn’t make my challenge.

To a recovering perfectionist like me, the natural reaction to a setback is to refuse to face it, take it personally, and fail to learn from it. I might look like I’m learning from it by redoubling my efforts and setting the bar even higher. But the truth I’m closing my eyes, pretending nothing went wrong, and hoping that if I work just a little bit harder I’ll be perfect this time. Well, I said I’m a recovering perfectionist and I don’t want to do that this time. So I’m going to do what doesn’t come naturally. I’m going to take a step back, look at my mistakes, set the bar a little lower this time, and make sure I can reach it.

Therefore October’s healthy living challenge is to get back on track and try and re-cement the healthy habits I started forming this summer. Step 1: lace up my sneakers everyday (doesn’t have to be big, just at least 10 minutes). Step 2: “no seconds”. I think one of the reasons the fruit challenge didn’t work for me is that it was too restrictive. Sometimes I wanted some protein or something sweet and if I stumbled on my fruit challenge, it was a lot easier to say “screw it” and give up on the “no seconds” too. So this month I’m keeping it simple and just going back to “no seconds”. Finally, step 3: get back on track with my push-up plan. In September, I seemed to log fewer checks each week. This month I want to re-cement the habit. So I’m aiming to to do the push-up challenge 6 days a week and give myself Sunday off. So far so good. 2 days down and I’ve hit my goals. I’ll let you know how it goes =) Knowing I’m coming back to report at the end of the month definitely helps keep me accountable, so thanks everybody!!

One last goal – I’ve decided to do a virtual Trick or Treat Trot 5k. I’ve always wanted to do a costume race. I can’t find one locally, but sparkpeople provided a solution. I’m thinking of running dressed as Smurfette. What do you think? Anybody wanna do it with me? There’s no pesky distance hurdles!

 

8 comments on “October Healthy Living Goals

  1. Patty
    October 3, 2012

    Fully support your decision! And I laughed out for the Trick or Treat 5K… I’ll see whether reach that distance by that time, and maybe I’ll sign as well… Go Team Jessi!

    • Jessi
      October 4, 2012

      I know. I loved it when I saw it. It was just too whimsical. =)

  2. myhealthyohana
    October 5, 2012

    I love that you are realistic with your expectations and willing to back off a bit when it seems too much! I have to learn that lesson too. I’m with you on the 10 minutes of exercise a day. I’ve started to feel a little bit down this week – probably lack of sleep or maybe post-partum blues, and I think a bit of exercise will help my mood – as long as I can get out the door with the two kids, and maybe the dog too 🙂

    • Jessi
      October 5, 2012

      Aww, I’m sorry you’re not feeling great. I know exercise always helps me. I just have to keep telling myself every little bit helps and not wait for the perfect time to get a “good” workout in. I can’t imagine how much more challenging it must be with two little ones and a dog. Well done you for getting out there. I hope it helps =)

  3. Pingback: Trick or Treat Trot 5k « Doctorate Housewife

  4. Pingback: My November Healthy Living Challenge « Doctorate Housewife

  5. Pingback: My 2013 Healthy Living Rules – “No Seconds 2.0″ and a 30 day challenge « Doctorate Housewife

  6. Pingback: Eat Better, Feel Fitter – February Healthy Living Challenge « Doctorate Housewife

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 3, 2012 by in Fitness, Healthy Living, Nutrition and tagged , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

