Doctorate Housewife

What my degree in IPE didn't teach me about baking, DIY, fitness, and life…

Peanut Speculoos Caramel Butter (and cookies)

I think I may have done something dangerous. You see I had a sleeve of speculoos (biscoff) cookies and a bag of peanuts and I didn’t want to just snack on them so I decided to see what would happen if I put them in the food processor together…

It was essentially peanut butter mixed with speculoos spread. Let me tell you that was a good idea – though it didn’t do anything for my snack attack problem! Then I remembered that I had a bit of cream in the fridge that would go bad if I didn’t use it. So I whipped up a batch of my favourite caramel sauce, using slightly less cream than normal and leaving a few sugar clumps. Then I did the unthinkable – I poured it into the peanut speculoos butter, making peanut speculoos caramel butter – with roughly the same addictive properties as crack. I tried to put it in the fridge and leave it there, but I just couldn’t do it. As the caramel hardened it created a Butterfinger like crisp, much better than either of the two mock Butterfinger recipes I had tried previously. I had accidentally made my self-control kryptonite. I knew I had to get rid of this stuff and fast (and not just with a spoon, however tempting). I knew what I had to do. I pulled out the recipe book and started to make cookies. 

I know what you’re thinking – “how are crack cookies any better than crack butter?” Well, the answer is I could tell myself the that the cookies had to be saved for the roofers. Yes I’d eat one a few, but at least it wouldn’t be the whole batch and somebody else would get to enjoy them. The cookies were hard to resist. I used a mixture of a peanut butter cookie recipe with an oatmeal cookie recipe and threw in white chocolate chunks, um YUM!

But the real star of the show has got to be the peanut speculoos caramel butter – heretofore known as crack butter. Yes, the crack butter will have to be made again, if only to further my Butterfinger research. I mean come on, it’s in the name of science. Anyway, if you dare to tempt your moral muscle here’s all you have to do:

Here’s what you need:

  • 250g peanuts
  • 1 sleeve speculoos (biscoff) cookies
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/3 cup cream
  • pinch of salt

Here’s what you do:

  1. Put peanuts and cookies in the bowl of your food processor. Pulse until crushed and well mixed. Process until creamy.
  2. Melt sugar in medium heavy bottomed saucer, stirring sugar toward the center as you go. Once sugar reaches an amber colour, remove from heat and add cream. Stir until incorporated. If sugar seizes, return to medium heat until it has (mostly) remelted. Add pinch of salt.
  3. Fold into peanut cookie butter. Try not to eat in one sitting =p

Enjoy! Print Recipe

6 comments on “Peanut Speculoos Caramel Butter (and cookies)

  1. myhealthyohana
    October 9, 2012

    Wow, you really have a gift for combining all the good stuff into one amazing concoction 🙂 I just tasted cookie butter for the first time this weekend, it’s SO delicious! I’ve been eating it with everything, and sneaking little spoon-fulls here and there 🙂

    • Jessi
      October 9, 2012

      Yay – I know from experience that it disappears fast. I think it’s the cookie butter fairy =p… but the spoon in my sink tells a different story – oops.

      • myhealthyohana
        October 9, 2012

        LOL, I think it IS the cookie butter fairy! I just melted some and drizzled it on vanilla ice cream 🙂

      • Jessi
        October 9, 2012

        OOOOh it’s good melted!

  2. Pingback: Temptation Tuesdays « Doctorate Housewife

  3. Pingback: Temptation Tuesdays « Doctorate Housewife

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 8, 2012 by in Baking, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

