Doctorate Housewife

What my degree in IPE didn't teach me about baking, DIY, fitness, and life…

Brussels Mini Marathon

Only a few more days to go till the Bakemasters team takes on its first marathon… ekiden style. We’ll be running the 26.2 miles (42.195km) as a relay team of 6. There are three 5k legs, two 10k, and one leg of 7.195k. The last one is mine. I’m really looking forward to it. Not only am I excited for the Bakemasters team, but I’ve also been training a team from church. After months of preparation, I’m excited to see the big day finally arrive.

As one last practice, a group of us ran the Brussels 4k mini marathon. It was a beautiful sunny Sunday morning, a great course, and an awesome group of people. Perhaps the best bit though, is that the positive peer pressure has spilled over to our hubbies, two of whom joined in for the event. Here we are post race in the grand place (Brussels main square) proudly wearing our finishers medals.

If you would have asked me January last year what I thought of running. I would have told it you that it was a boring, pointless, and painful sport, bad for the knees and hard on the joints. Man, how wrong I was. Yes I still love my team sports, hiking, and dancing, but I’ve come to have a real appreciation for running too. First of all I’ve learned that running isn’t bad for your knees. On the contrary, research shows that if you build up gradually it has a protective effect. And secondly I’ve learned that it can be fun – there’re cool trails to run, fun people to run with, and an amazing feeling when you’ve finished. Not to mention that you don’t need anything but a decent pair of shoes and a good sports bra. Oh and you end up with some pretty funny race pictures:

Don’t believe me? Why not give the couch to 5k programme a try? Come on, what have you got to lose?

4 comments on “Brussels Mini Marathon

  1. myhealthyohana
    October 12, 2012

    I’ve been thinking about doing a couch to 5K program for a while now, and vowed that I would start it after Ryan was born. Still haven’t done it 🙂 Thanks for the reminder! I used to hate running when I was in school, but now I crave it!

    Good luck on your marathon!! What a great idea to break it up with friends 🙂

    • Jessi
      October 12, 2012

      Thanks. I’m just hoping it doesn’t rain. There’s a huge storm in the forecast. I can’t recommend the couch to 5k enough. I really and truly hated running before I started! Here’s to doing what our bodies crave =)

  2. Pingback: Weekend Fun and Couch to 5K Plan « My Healthy 'Ohana

  3. Pingback: We Ran a Marathon! « Doctorate Housewife

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 11, 2012 by in Fitness, Uncategorized and tagged , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

