Doctorate Housewife

What my degree in IPE didn't teach me about baking, DIY, fitness, and life…

Pumpkin Spice Pancakes for One (and my pumpkin bucket list)

I cooked up my first pumpkin of the season on Monday. I’m not sure how I managed to resist so long with so many amazing recipes flying around the blogosphere. With the smell of pumpkin wafting around the house, and me searching for lunch it didn’t take long to settle on my first pumpkin recipe – pumpkin spice pancakes for one by Lauren at Healthy Food for Living. They were so so so good. Covered in light butter and 100% pure maple syrup, they were truly amazing! And, because they require only one egg white, that leaves a lovely egg yolk in the fridge for a single serving cookie recipe later this week. Woot!

Wanna make them too?

Here’s what you need:

  • 1/2 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1 tbs sugar
  • 1 tbs brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • pinch salt
  • shake cinnamon
  • shake nutmeg
  • shake cloves
  • shake ginger
  • 1 heaping soup spoon plain yoghurt
  • 1 egg white
  • 3 drops vanilla
  • scant 1/4 cup water
  • 1/4 cup pumpkin puree

Here’s what you do:

  1. In medium bowl, mix together dry ingredients. Add yoghurt, egg white, vanilla, water, and pumpkin. Stir till just blended.
  2. Heat skillet over medium high heat. Grease pan with cooking spray. Use 1/4 cup measure to spoon batter onto hot skillet.
  3. When pancake bubbles, it’s time to flip. With both sides browned, plate up, cover with butter and syrup. Enjoy!

Print Recipe

And now that I’ve started, I’m not sure I can stop. I definitely need a bucket list. So without further ado…

My Pumpkin Bucket List:

And some more from Two Peas & Their Pod Oh and I’d definitely add these Whole Wheat Pumpkin Waffles by Maura at My Healthy ‘Ohana if I had a waffle maker – must get waffle maker. Any I missed that should be on the list? Leave a comment and let me know!

12 comments on “Pumpkin Spice Pancakes for One (and my pumpkin bucket list)

  1. Patty
    October 18, 2012

    I like recipes for one – much more fun!!! btw, if you need a waffle maker, I can help out! I’ll be making pumpkin cream cheese truffles (ouf…): http://www.erinsfoodfiles.com/2008/10/pumpkin-cream-cheese-truffles.html

    • Jessi
      October 18, 2012

      mmm yummy truffles – those look perfect for Thanksgiving!

  2. myhealthyohana
    October 19, 2012

    What a list! Those pumpkin whole wheat cinnamon rolls are calling my name! Hope you can get your hands on a waffle maker soon 🙂

    • Jessi
      October 19, 2012

      The cinnamon rolls totally had me drooling. Oooh, and I made the cookies yesterday and they are good! I love pumpkin =)

      • myhealthyohana
        October 19, 2012

        Me too! Ooh, I will have to try the cookies too 🙂

  3. Pingback: Temptation Tuesdays « Doctorate Housewife

  4. Pingback: Celebrate National Pumpkin Day with Pumpkin Mac & Cheese « Doctorate Housewife

  5. Pingback: Easy Food Prep Tips to Simplify Your Life – tested! « Doctorate Housewife

  6. Pingback: Tempting Tidbit Trials – Pumpkin Crumb Cake « Doctorate Housewife

  7. Pingback: Tempting Tidbit Trials – Pizza Casserole « Doctorate Housewife

  8. Pingback: Peanut Butter Cup Cookies « Doctorate Housewife

  9. Pingback: Breakfast in Bed for your Sweetie – Waffles for One « Doctorate Housewife

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 18, 2012 by in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

