Doctorate Housewife

What my degree in IPE didn't teach me about baking, DIY, fitness, and life…

Millions of cookies, cookies for me… oh yeah and fudge too

This past weekend, Toastmasters and Bakemasters collided. It was the Belgian-wide humorous speech contest and since Hubby was organising I offered to do the dessert for lunch and coffee breaks. I’ve done a couple of cakes to order, but this was Doctorate Housewife’s first big gig, and I was excited… and a little bit worried. I wanted to make a good impression, and I definitely didn’t want to run out of cookies. I ended up going more than a little bit nutty.

I made 7 different kind of cookies and two different kinds of fudge – that’s 24 dozen cookies and 180 pieces of fudge!! Here are the cookies ready to go:

I used the opportunity to make some of my favourites, knock a couple off of my pumpkin bucket list, and try a new recipe or two. Here was the dessert menu:

Cookies & Fudge:

  • Crispy chocolate chip cookies
  • NYtimes chocolate chip cookies
  • M&M sugar cookies
  • Pumpkin snickerdoodles
  • Pumpkin oatmeal white chocolate chunk
  • Triple chocolate
  • Speculoos cookie dough balls
  • After eight fudge
  • Chubby hubby fudge

The after eight fudge is an old favourite of mine and it disappeared really quickly. When I did my exchange year in the south of France, my friend Rachel and I decided to perfect a version of mint chocolate fudge. We’d learnt a fudge recipe over Christmas that was super easy, but it required a microwave and we didn’t have one. So we tried to adapt it for the stove… unsuccessfully. Batch after batch either never hardened or turned into a rock. We didn’t mind too much, because it was always edible and always tasty, just not very pretty. Many many batches later, we figured it out. Flash forward to an easy stand-by recipe with a touch of flair. Sure you can do easy chocolate fudge, but call it after eight fudge and you’ve got something special… and now I’m going to share it with you.

Here’s what you need:

  • 400g dark chocolate
  • 1 can of sweetened condensed milk
  • 1/2 tsp mint extract

Here’s what you do:

  1. Break up the chocolate and get out a heavy bottomed pan. Line an 8×8 pan with tin foil.
  2. Over medium-high heat heat the chocolate and sweetened condensed milk together, stirring while you go.
  3. Once the chocolate has completely melted, remove from heat and add mint.
  4. Pour into pan and chill for a few hours.
  5. Cut into 64 pieces. Enjoy =)

Print Recipe

PS I linked this post up to two linky parties Thursday Treasures & What’s Up Wednesdays

 

16 comments on “Millions of cookies, cookies for me… oh yeah and fudge too

  1. myhealthyohana
    October 24, 2012

    How did the NY times chocolate chip cookie turn out? I’ve been debating whether to make that one or the cooks illustrated recipe. We love chewy cookies. Those pumpkin snickerdoodles look amazing! Looks like quite the job, but I’m sure it was fun, knowing your expertise with baking 🙂

    • Jessi
      October 24, 2012

      Actually I’ve made both and though I love the cook’s illustrated recipe – my go to for a long time, I think the NY times recipe is about to replace it. The downside is having to leave the dough in the fridge for so long. But it’s very worth it!

      • myhealthyohana
        October 25, 2012

        OK, I’ll definitely give the NY times recipe a try 🙂

  2. Patty
    October 24, 2012

    Congratulations! (I never doubted you could do it for a minute!)

    • Jessi
      October 24, 2012

      Tehee, thanks =) Btw, hope you’re feeling better!

  3. RachelG
    October 25, 2012

    I so remember the after eight fudge! I still think about our Christmas dessert spread. So yummy! No wonder I gained weight in France…

    • Jessi
      October 25, 2012

      Those were good times =)

  4. Eleenie
    October 25, 2012

    The fudge sounds delicious, I’m going to give that a spin at Christmas as a special treat 🙂

    • Jessi
      October 25, 2012

      Aww thanks. Let me tell you, it’s totally worth it =)

  5. deenaharrison
    October 25, 2012

    TWENTY-FOUR DOZEN???? I’m impressed!!!!! Thanks so much for sharing this on my first Linky Party! I can’t wait to see what you’re sharing next Wednesday!!! **Hugs!!
    -Deena
    http://www.winkerdoodles.com

    • Jessi
      October 25, 2012

      Yeah, the old russian grandma in me came out and I went a little overboard worrying there wouldn’t be enough. I had a lot of fun doing it though =) Looking forward to linking up next week!

  6. Julie R
    October 25, 2012

    First of all. Congratulations! That’s a lot of yummy deserts! Secondly, I’d love to hear what you did in the pumpkin snickerdoodles. And we do have a pumpkin waiting to be turned into something (or a couple somethings) yummy. 😉

  7. I can’t believe you made after eight AND chubby hubby fudge and you didn’t save me any!!

    PS is the title a reference to Presidents Of the United States of America’s song “Peaches”?

    • Jessi
      October 27, 2012

      Yeah, I’m afraid there’s none left =(, but I promise to make some more. And well caught, that is indeed a reference to “Peaches”. That song always made me giggle.

  8. Pingback: Temptation Tuesdays « Doctorate Housewife

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 24, 2012 by in Baking, Recipes and tagged , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

