Doctorate Housewife

What my degree in IPE didn't teach me about baking, DIY, fitness, and life…

Celebrate National Pumpkin Day with Pumpkin Mac & Cheese

Happy National Pumpkin Day everybody! To celebrate I’m crossing another recipe off my pumpkin bucket list (ok, more accurately I’m adding another recipe to the list, but I’m ok with that =p). It’s perfect for a cold stormy day, which is exactly what we’ve got here in lovely old Brussels – Pumpkin Mac & Cheese! Hubby’s getting over a cold, and I fear I’m getting one. So, it is definitely time for comfort food. I started with a recipe from The Back Burner, a great site hosted by a handful of talented food bloggers. Then I added some goodies to make it my own.

Here’s what you need:

  • 1/2 box of uncooked pasta (I used whole wheat penne. I think that hearty taste of whole wheat pasta really complements the pumpkin)
  • 1 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1 cup skim milk
  • 180g low fat cream cheese
  • 1/2 cup light emmental (grated)
  • 1/2 cup freshly grated parmesan
  • 300g chopped mushrooms
  • 5 links chicken sausage (125g each)

Here’s what you do:

  1. Cook the pasta. Be careful not to overcook. There’s nothing worse than mushy pasta. While the pasta is cooking cook up the chicken (or turkey) sausage.
  2. Use the sausage pan to sauté the mushroom. Use the pasta pot to make the pumpkin cheese sauce.
  3. With the mushrooms cooking, start on the pumpkin cheese sauce. Over medium heat whisk pumpkin and milk together. Once hot, add the cheeses. Whisk till melted. Season with salt, pepper, and garlic to your liking.
  4. Add mushrooms, sausage, and pasta to the pot with the cheese sauce. Stir until completely combined.

Enjoy =) NOTE: Apples also make a nice addition.

Print Recipe

”YourSiteTitle”

15 comments on “Celebrate National Pumpkin Day with Pumpkin Mac & Cheese

  1. Julie R
    October 26, 2012

    Mmmm. This facinates my mind … pumpkin mac and cheese. I think Mike would be happy if I made this for him. 😉 Now I have two new pumkin recipes! Rock on, Jess. Rock on.

    • Jessi
      October 26, 2012

      Thanks Jules and this one is even better the second day around – and low fat too! =)

  2. myhealthyohana
    October 26, 2012

    Looks great and pretty healthy for mac and cheese! I made a butternut squash mac and cheese last year for Thanksgiving, it’s amazing how the squash and pumpkin flavors go well in savory dishes.

    • Jessi
      October 26, 2012

      I know. I was really sceptical at first, but I love this dish! So no turkey for T-day, or was the mac&cheese a side?

      • myhealthyohana
        October 26, 2012

        It was a side! I’m actually not a big fan of turkey on thanksgiving though, I’d much rather have a baked ham…either that or just eat all the sides and desserts 🙂

      • Jessi
        October 26, 2012

        I know. Me, I’m all about the stuffing!

      • myhealthyohana
        October 26, 2012

        Me too!! I always go for the crispy bits 🙂

  3. Erin
    October 28, 2012

    I had no idea there was a national pumpkin day, good to know! I love mac and cheese and I love pumpkin so, why not? Glad I saw you at Fabulous Fridays! at http://www.realhousemoms.com

    • Jessi
      October 28, 2012

      Thanks Erin! It’s definitely worth a try. Let me know what you think if you do =)

  4. melodiefaith
    October 31, 2012

    I got a little pumpkin crazy too (Jessi this is all your doing – from the time that you introduced me to pumpkin carving in the first place) I carved a pumpkin, made a savoury cream cheese and cheddar cheese pumpkin pie and a sweet pumpkin meringue pie. Talk about a lot of pumpkin love!

    • Jessi
      October 31, 2012

      Awesome! I’ve created a monster =p

  5. melodiefaith
    October 31, 2012

    I love PUMPKIN 😀 !

    • Jessi
      October 31, 2012

      Me too – just served a version of this to house group and it got two thumbs up. Missed you though =)

      • melodiefaith
        November 4, 2012

        Aw, thanks. I expect that went down a treat 😀

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 26, 2012 by in Dinner, Recipes and tagged , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

