Doctorate Housewife

What my degree in IPE didn't teach me about baking, DIY, fitness, and life…

October Foodie PenPals!

Happy Halloween everybody! This is my third month participating in the Foodie PenPals programme and I have to say I love it more and more. I’ve met lots of fun bloggers, tried all sorts of foods I wouldn’t have otherwise, and gotten to be creative with interesting new ingredients (and I love the new blog button!). This month, my package is from Dana over at A Bite Of…. She’s a fellow ex-pat American and she lives in London. She sent me an awesome box. Here it is:

Wanna know what’s inside?

Cat not included =p

I really love how she included…

 

My Foodie PenPal assignment was Heather, who lives in Holland and blogs over Cloggie Central. She’s a travel writer with a lot of wit and style. Go check her out!

Since it’s Halloween…

Here are a couple of bits of history for you. Halloween is derived from All Hallows’ Eve – the eve of All Saint’s Day. According to Wikipedia, by the 12th century it was a day of holy obligation. People would bake soul cakes and the poor (especially children) would go door to door collecting them (the origin of trick-or-treating?) In England the practice faded out during the reformation because it was considered “popish”. And Guy Fawkes night came to replace it. In the USA, the puritans maintained a strong opposition to the holiday. But eventually with the waves of Scottish and Irish immigrants, it gained popularity. I mean who can resist the candy – mountains and mountains of candy.

And now for some personal history:

Getting pumpkins from the farm when I was about 6

Ready to go trick-or-treating. Me as Little Bo Peep (ignore the braces -sigh), my sister as The Wicked Witch of the West from the Wizard of Oz, My brother as Frankenstein (he’d just read the book), and my baby brother (who’s not so little anymore) as a pirate

Have a happy and safe Halloween! You’re never too old for costumes and candy =D

 

3 comments on “October Foodie PenPals!

  1. myhealthyohana
    October 31, 2012

    Aw, I love those family pictures!! Did you enjoy growing up in a big family? My husband came from a family of five, and he keeps trying to convince me that we should have four kids 🙂 There were only two in my family. I will say that it’s so fun when we get together with Patrick’s family as there is always so much going on at those big family gatherings! We’ve compromised on three for now, but perhaps four??

    What a fun package, I love Reese’s PB cups 🙂

    • Jessi
      October 31, 2012

      Thanks. I had fun digging them out. Growing up in a big family has its advantages, but also its challenges. On the plus side, there’s always something going on, always someone to play with or hang out with (now that we’re older). On the negative side (at least for me as the oldest) the parents are outnumbered and often rely on the older kids to make up the balance. Plus it seems there’s never enough time and attention to go around. As for 3 versus 4, my mom always said that the difficult transition was from 2 to 3. If you can handle 3, then 4’s a breeze. Though I don’t know about that. A lot of things are set up for 5 – cars, restaurant booths, hotel rooms. Being a group of 6 definitely created a logistical challenge. That said, there’ s a lot of love in a big family…

      Speaking of love, pb cups, oh pb cups. They didn’t last more than 5 minutes =p

  2. Pingback: Foodie PenPal January (plus Crumb Cake!) « Doctorate Housewife

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 31, 2012 by in Foodie PenPal, Recipes and tagged , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

