Doctorate Housewife

What my degree in IPE didn't teach me about baking, DIY, fitness, and life…

Tempting Tidbit Trials – Pumpkin Crumb Cake

Sorry for the lack of posting recently. Jet-lag has really hit me hard this time. I’m mostly over it and excited to get back into the blogging swing of things. Here’s a start – a great pumpkin recipe. If you’re having a Thanksgiving breakfast or brunch, this would be perfect – super yummy! I mean, just look at it…

I featured the Hungry Couple’s Pumpkin Crumb Cake in Temptation Tuesdays a month or so ago and quickly put it on my Pumpkin Bucket List. A couple of weeks ago Hubby and I were going over to a friend’s house for pizza & games and I was tasked with dessert. I turned to my bucket list, consulted my cupboards, and made the easy choice – pumpkin crumb cake it was. And it did not disappoint. Since there were only 4 of us, I decided to half the recipe and baked it in a bread pan instead of the called for 9in pan and reduced the cooking time slightly.

The cake was moist and gooey. It tasted wonderfully of pumpkin without being too sweet. The crumb ended up drying out a bit, but I wonder if that didn’t have to do with my modifications. Either way it was still delicious. In case you want to add it to your bucket list, here’s the recipe with my play-by-play in teal. Thanks Hungry Couple!

Here’s what you need:

  • CRUMB
  • 1/2 cup sugar I used 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 1 tsp cinnamon I used 2 – I love cinnamon
  • 1 stick butter (melted)
  • 1 1/2 cups flour I’d reduce this to 1 1/4 for a moister crumb next time
  • dash salt
  • CAKE
  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp pumpkin spice I can’t find pumpkin spice, so used 1/4 tsp of the following: ginger, nutmeg, cloves
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 stick butter
  • 1 cup sugar I used 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/2 cup white sugar. I like what a bit of brown sugar does to a recipe.
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 cup pureed pumpkin
  • 1/2 cup sour cream I used fat free greek yoghurt. I don’t have access to good sour cream in Belgium.

Here’s what you do:

  1. Preheat oven to  350F (175C). Grease pan.
  2. Make the crumb. Combine dry ingredients. Add melted butter, stir until crumbly, set aside (and try not to eat =p)
  3. Make the cake. Cream butter and sugar. Add eggs, pumpkin, and vanilla. Stir to combine. Add dry ingredients. Stir to combine.
  4. Pour cake batter into pan. Top with crumb. Bake for 40-50 minutes. Check after 30. Mine was done early.

Enjoy!! Print Recipe

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 18, 2012 by in Tempting Tidbit Trials and tagged , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

