Doctorate Housewife

What my degree in IPE didn't teach me about baking, DIY, fitness, and life…

Cleaning out my closet – Fall back to less clutter

Clock in Kings Cross railway station

Here in Europe we changed our clocks the last weekend in October. The US does it later. It gets very confusing for the expat, let me tell you. In fact, this year I fell back twice – once here in Brussels and then again while I was visiting my parents! I like the time changes. Springing forward is hard on the sleep, but the extra hours of daylight are more than worth it. Falling back means one more glorious hour of sleep and the feeling that the holiday season is beginning. All of a sudden it’s dark before dinner and before Hubby gets home. The days are shorter, the weather colder – the year is slowly coming to a close.

The change in the clocks is also a good excuse for annual maintenance, like Spring cleaning. This year I’ve been inspired by something I keep reading in blogs and books, the most recent of which was Happier at Home by Gretchen Rubin. The rule is simple “one in, one out”. We get attached to stuff, even stupid stuff (like that free pen we got at the bank, or the key chain that came in the swag bag at our last race). The longer we own it, the more attached we become. Studies show there’s actually an emotional cost to throwing things (even free things) away. Sure we’d never voluntarily pay for the cheap pen that came with the new bank account, but now that we have it, we’re much less willing to give it away.

Pens on my Desk

With Thanksgiving tomorrow, I’m thinking again about my attachment to stuff. So I’m starting a new tradition – “Fall back to less clutter”. I’m cleaning out my closets (I’m going to have to do it eventually for the asbestos work anyway) and getting rid of anything that has holes, stains, or hasn’t been worn in over a year. Ok, not everything. I’m keeping one set of painting clothes (they clearly have stains). And some of my best loved workout clothes have holes (but I use them, so I’m ok with that). But for everything else, it’s time to let it go. Clean house, clean mind. The useable stuff will go to a local charity that has collection bins around the city and the rest will go in the garbage. It’s too easy to keep wearing holy and stained clothing simply because it’s there and comfortable. Now with all these things out, what I really should do is go shopping. I guess that’s what Black Friday’s for… in the meantime I’m just going to be thankful for what I have. Have a Happy Thanksgiving!

2 comments on “Cleaning out my closet – Fall back to less clutter

  1. myhealthyohana
    November 22, 2012

    That’s so funny that you had to go through daylight savings time twice this fall! We don’t have daylight savings time in Hawaii, so when I first moved to the mainland, I was totally baffled by the concept.

    Great idea about cleaning out the closets! When we moved, we got rid of a lot of our clutter, as it costs a lot of money to ship things to Hawaii. We still have a lot of unnecessary things though, and would love to go through it and give away to Goodwill!

  2. Jessi
    November 22, 2012

    No daylight savings time? Really? That must have been a huge shock the first time. Doing it twice definitely had a weird sense of deja-vu! Have fun with the clean out =)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 21, 2012 by in DIY, Healthy Living and tagged , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

