Doctorate Housewife

What my degree in IPE didn't teach me about baking, DIY, fitness, and life…

Intermittent Fasting

I have an interesting one for you, especially in light of the Christmas cookie season. Have you read the research on Intermittent Fasting? The idea is that every once in awhile you take a day where you eat really lightly. A few early studies have suggested that it may help you live longer. There are different modalities that have been studied. There’s the ADF (Alternate Day Fast) – where you eat whatever you want one day and the next day you eat a very restricted diet of max 600 calories. There’s also the (slightly easier) 5:2 version, where you eat normally 5 days out of the week and a very restricted diet the remaining 2 days out of the week  – 500 calories for a woman, 600 for a man. There’s even been studies to suggest that a single fast day a month can do you good in terms of cardiovascular disease markers, among other things. (Read more here) This research is still at an early stage, but it’s promising.

I think it’s really interesting. One of the elements of my life that I haven’t talked about much on the blog is faith. Long story short, I’m a Christian and I’m always looking to do a better job of living out my faith in the everyday. Fasting is one of those biblical concepts that I’ve always had a hard time with… maybe just because it’s hard, maybe because instead of bringing me closer to God, most of my attempts have just made me moody. But whatever the reason, I’ve never really found a way to make it work for me. But I find it really interesting that studies are showing that it’s good for you. I find it kinda confirms my faith. Maybe I’ll try again in 2013 and make 5:2 intermittent fasting my January healthy living challenge. What do you think? Up for an experiment?

6 comments on “Intermittent Fasting

  1. Julie R
    December 6, 2012

    We did the Daniel fast at the beginning of this year (first week of Jan). I was surprised a bit by how it affected my perspective & prayer life. I choose the Daniel fast because I know how badly I do with no food (being slightly hypoglycemic), but I found this to be enough of a change to actually affect my thoughts, heart, etc. If you want your fast to be spiritual, but are struggling with what it should look like/how you should go about it. I’d highly recommend the book “Fasting” by Jentezen Franklin – it’s a short book and a fast read, but it’s really thought provoking. 🙂

    • Jessi
      December 6, 2012

      Thanks Jules. I’ll look into all of that!

  2. Holly Brill Waterfall
    December 6, 2012

    I think fasting can work for some people. I have heard that there are benefits associated with this sort of practice. Unfortunately, I abused the practice (through many years of eating disorders/restricting behaviors) and can’t touch any forms of restricting with a 10-foot pole. But I would be very interested in hearing about your experience if you do try it out. Great article, by the way!

    • Jessi
      December 6, 2012

      Wow – thanks for sharing. Congrats to you for getting control of it. I’ll definitely blog about the experience if I decide to go for it (and I’m leaning that way). =)

  3. Pingback: My 2013 Resolutions « Doctorate Housewife

  4. Pingback: The Power of Availability | Doctorate Housewife

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 6, 2012 by in Healthy Living, Nutrition and tagged , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

