Doctorate Housewife

What my degree in IPE didn't teach me about baking, DIY, fitness, and life…

Bakemasters Christmas – Gingerbread Houses!

Bakemasters December is always fun. Last year we even had 2 – a cookie exchange and a Christmas cake ball extravaganza. This year I wanted to do something we hadn’t done before, something I’d never done before – make gingerbread houses!! So, I mustered the troops and called a gingerbread house raising. They were happy to oblige =)

FIrst came the preparation:Baking Prep

decorations

I tried a couple of different recipes – I’ll blog about them next week, but suffice it to say 10 gingerbread houses means a lot of cookie dough!
ready to go
time to get building
We struggled a bit to get the walls to stay put. If I were doing this project again, I’d say build the house; let the frosting sit and harden; and THEN add the roof and decorate. The way we did it, we had a few house collapses before successfully raising these houses. Still our persistence and love for sugar paid off. Check out our masterpieces…
gingerbread houses

Once everyone had gone home and things were all (mostly) cleaned up, I played with the leftovers and put together a couple of fun gingerbread facades. I’m planning on using them to decorate the desserts table at our Christmas party on Saturday. Speaking of desserts table… I made something fun. I’ll share next week. In the meantime, check out my gingerbread. I’m not super artsy, but I’m pretty proud of these babies. This might have to become a Christmas tradition.

Gingerbread Facades My gingerbread house

And now you…

What’s your favourite Christmas tradition? Or one you’ve been wanting to start?

6 comments on “Bakemasters Christmas – Gingerbread Houses!

  1. gottagetbaked
    December 8, 2012

    This looked like so much fun! I’m totally doing this next year with a group of friends. Love the reindeer antlers 😉

    • Jessi
      December 9, 2012

      Thanks! It was a blast =)

  2. Pingback: Gingerbread House Tips and Recipes « Doctorate Housewife

  3. Chandra@The Plaid and Paisley Kitchen
    December 10, 2012

    Oh I think a Gingerbread House raising party sounds like a blast! Can’t wait to see what that yummy treat is next week! Thanks for linking up at Show Me Your Plaid Monday’s!

  4. Pingback: Temptation Tuesdays « Doctorate Housewife

  5. Pingback: 2013 Baking Resolutions « Doctorate Housewife

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 7, 2012 by in Bakemasters and tagged , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

