Doctorate Housewife

What my degree in IPE didn't teach me about baking, DIY, fitness, and life…

Keep On Toasting Food Truck Review

Have you heard of the Food Truck Fad? No? Have you seen What to Expect When You’re Expecting? (I watched it on a plane – it’s hilarious.) Food trucks have even made the movies! In case you’re not familiar, the idea is real, and often gourmet food, out of a truck. The prices tends to be low, the food tasty and trendy, and the experience much better than getting a hotdog at a game. According to Time Magazine, it’s “democratizing the slow and local food trends”. Though I may not be the super trendy hipster that makes up a lot of food trucks’ demographic, I’ve really wanted to try one. Sadly Brussels was bereft of food trucks =(… that is until last month when Keep On Toasting went live.
Image027
The chef behind the truck, Jean-Baptiste Nyssen, contacted me before he opened and I was more than happy to come check it out. I grabbed a friend, checked the web to see where they’d be, and hopped on the metro. When I got there, I was surprised to find a local camera crew filming. Apparently I wasn’t the only one excited about Brussels’s new gourmet food truck.
Image026
Every food truck has a theme, and Keep On Toasting is no exception. They’re all about grilled cheese!!! Oh how I love melty wonderful grilled cheese. The menu has four options plus a freshly made dessert of the day. Both my friend and I went for the French grilled cheese: emmental cheese, chicken breast, and spinach on a honey rosemary infused bread.
Image028

My friend can’t have cheese, but this didn’t phase Jean-Baptiste. He happily removed the emmental so she could enjoy a toasty sandwich too. As you can probably guess from the photos, the sandwiches were delicious! Chock full of spinach with melty cheese, it was an awesome meal – especially for just 5€. The honey and rosemary infused bread was a really pleasant surprise. The touch of sweetness cut the bitterness of the spinach and really complemented the sandwich.Image029

Long story short – I’m definitely going back… though maybe when the temperatures go above freezing. If you’re in Brussels, it’s definitely worth a visit. Two big thumbs up!

What about you?

Have you ever tried a food truck? Have any must-eat recommendations?

PS – Check it out…

Today I’m featured On Tumbleweed Contessa’s New Friend Fridays. She’s an awesome foodie that I met at Online Blogcon. Why not go over and say hi =)

6 comments on “Keep On Toasting Food Truck Review

  1. Jean-Baptiste Nyssen
    December 14, 2012

    Very happy that the food was worth the (freezing) trip! 😉

    See you soon!

    Jean-Baptiste

  2. pattoula
    December 15, 2012

    What a great idea – it was high time!

  3. Sarah @ Will Run for Pasta
    December 16, 2012

    How fun, that sandwich combo sounds amazing! Luckily, living near Portland we have access to a ton a food trucks, but sadly I don’t get to check out as many as I would like. The Mr. and I keep talking about how we should do a food truck tour some weekend!

    • Jessi
      December 16, 2012

      Go for it – even if just for the experience =)

  4. imarunner2012
    January 16, 2013

    We have food trucks here in Cambridge Massachusetts also. You can get a great lunch for $5.00!
    That sandwich looks great!

    • Jessi
      January 17, 2013

      Oh fun. I love the food truck movement!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 14, 2012 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

