Doctorate Housewife

What my degree in IPE didn't teach me about baking, DIY, fitness, and life…

Christmas Party Appetisers – Snow Man Cheese Ball

For our Christmas party last week, I tried something new. I wanted to have an appetiser that was tasty and easy to eat, but also festive and fun. I’d seen all sorts of stuff on Pinterest and then it struck me – cheese ball! I know I know, how is it possible that I’ve yet to make a cheese ball?! I’ll blame my dad – he’s allergic to all things milk. Anyway, I looked up a bunch of different recipes and it seems you can do anything with the cheese ball as long as you start with cream cheese. I’ll share my particular mixture below, but I can’t wait any longer to show you the cuteness. Here it is my cute and festive snowman:

my cheese ball snow man

He’s got olives for eyes and buttons, a cucumber peel for a scarf, the traditional carrot for a nose, and waffle cigarettes for arms. His hat is cut from whole wheat bread and attached with a toothpick. He’s even dusted with parmesan snow =D

And now the nitty-gritty of building Frosty – actually, I named him Fred =p

Here’s what you need:

  • 400g cream cheese (I used light)
  • 1/2 cup parmesan cheese (plus more for making snow)
  • 3 garlic cloves
  • 1 onion (chopped)
  • 6 sun dried tomatoes (chopped in tiny pieces)
  • 1 large soup spoon whole grain mustard

Here’s what you do:

  1. Mix it all together.
  2. Spread out two sheets of plastic wrap. Drop 2/3 of mixture one to one and the remaining 1/3 onto the other. Close up the plastic and mold each piece into a ball. Put it in something to help it keep the round shape.shaping your snowman
  3. Now chill – if you don’t have a lot of time, the freeze for an hour will do (you can also store in the freezer for weeks until you’re ready to party), otherwise put in fridge for at least 4 hours.
  4. Now it’s time to assemble. Put some “snow” on your platter. Unwrap the big ball and place it on the snow. Top with more snow. Repeat with little ball. Decorate – hat, eyes, nose, whatever you like =)

I hear that you can also make a pretty awesome cheese ball Christmas tree…

These were my inspiration:

And now you…

What’s your favourite cheese ball combination?

 

Post linked to Lady Behind the Curtain’s Cast Party

6 comments on “Christmas Party Appetisers – Snow Man Cheese Ball

  1. Leah
    December 19, 2012

    This is so cute and perfect for a party!

  2. myhealthyohana
    December 19, 2012

    What a cute idea! I love the cucumber peel for the scarf 🙂

    • Jessi
      December 19, 2012

      Thanks! I could barely bring myself to dig into it =p

  3. melodiefaith
    December 20, 2012

    Cute!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 19, 2012 by in Dinner, Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

