Doctorate Housewife

What my degree in IPE didn't teach me about baking, DIY, fitness, and life…

Cookies & Crafts for Sandy Hook

It’s been a week since the tragedy. As I posted on Sunday, a group of bloggers have gotten together to try and do something, no matter how small to help. For me, it’s particularly close to home. You see, I live in Brussels, but I grew up in Connecticut, where most of my family still lives, where my parents both teach, where my brother and sister-in-law both teach. This one hit close to home. Newtown is not a place where you’d ever imagine this happening. It’s a quaint and quiet New England town. Nestled among the trees, it’s in Fairfield County – one of the wealthiest in the country.

Now Connecticut isn’t big and I think I’d feel the loss no matter where in the state it was, but Newtown is close. It’s my corner of the State, just down the road from my favourite ice-cream place.

This is my county, where my parents live, where we went to church, where my best friend lives, where I played sports, learned to drive, ate ice-cream, went to youth groups. It’s had a hard year – first Sandy, then Sandy Hook..

So now cookies and hopefully donations. Here’s the link to Newtown’s Youth & Family Services website. They’re taking donations.

Checks can also be sent to:

Sandy Hook School Support Fund
c/o Newtown Savings Bank
39 Main Street, Newtown CT  06470

And now, as promised something yummy to do with kids (or big kids):

Christmas Cupcakes! I found various ideas on Pinterest and went to town. First I made two of my favourite cupcake recipes: this white chocolate one, and this dark chocolate one. I lightened them up a little by using fat-free greek yoghurt instead of sour cream, switching out half the oil for applesauce (white chocolate), and using light butter (dark chocolate). Then I made my frosting – a standard cream cheese, and got to town laying out the goodies.

the table

I went a lot little bit overboard with my goodies. I had 4 possible cupcakes in mind. First there was the reindeer. I’d seen this on Pinterest and I’d picked up a kit in the states as a treat. So we did them first to warm up.snowman and reindeer

The snowman in the picture was a bit more complicated, but still lots of fun. Head on over to Confessions of a Cookbook Queen for a tutorial. Here’s the pin of how they were supposed to look – aren’t they awesome?!

Then it was time for Santa to make an appearance…

  • waffle cigarettes painted with red dyed white chocolate
  • 2 brown peanut m&ms
  • melted white chocolate

Pipe frosting like snow on your cupcake. Dip the waffle in white chocolate, push into cupcake, and glue on m&m. Repeat with second leg. Done and dusted! Here’s one of ours:Santa in the snow

Christmas Trees were super cute too.

  • Strawberry 
  • Frosting
  • Decorations

Cut the top off your strawberry to make a flat surface. Glue it to the cupcake with frosting. Pipe frosting around the strawberry. Decorate your tree. Here’s one of ours =)Christmas Tree

Lastly there was the Melted Snowman

  • 1 big peanut butter cup
  • 1 small peanut butter cup
  • 2 mini chocolate chips
  • 1 brown or orange sprinkle

Frost your cupcake (or use a spoon to dollop some melted white chocolate over the top in the shape of a puddle). Use frosting or melted chocolate to glue small peanut butter cup to big peanut butter cup. Push it into cupcake. Add eyes and nose. Voila!

Hope you’ve been inspired. Now go have some fun and make some cupcakes! =D

Cookies & Crafts for Sandy Brought to you by:

Hezzi-D’s Books and Cooks, The Red Headed Baker, Real Housemoms, Crazy for Crust, Something Swanky, Life After Laundry, Two Kids Cooking, Frugal Foodie Mama, The Doctorate Housewife, Heather’s French Press, Operation Dinnertime, Lovely Pantry, What’s Cooking Love?, Cupcakes and Kale Chips, Occasionally Crafty, Pint Sized Baker, Pineapple and Coconut, Wine & Glue, Lemonsforlulu, A Sweet Baker, Mom On Timeout, The Freshman Cook, Sweet Twist of Blogging, A Family Feast, Julie’s Eats & Treats, Eat at Allie’s, Here Comes the Sun, The Kitchen is My Playground, Just My Crazy Kitchen, The Sweet Chick, The Tasty Fork, Wholly Delicious Dishes, Chocolate, Chocolate and more , Yours and Mine ARE Ours, Kitchen Meets Girl, Daily Dish Recipes, Sweet Bella Roos, Mom’s Test Kitchen
Persnickety Plates

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 21, 2012 by in Bakemasters, Baking and tagged , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

