Doctorate Housewife

What my degree in IPE didn't teach me about baking, DIY, fitness, and life…

My 2013 Healthy Living Rules – “No Seconds 2.0” and a 30 day challenge

There are 30 days till I turn 30. I thought about making a bucket list of stuff I wanted to do before then, but I couldn’t really think of anything. But what I do want is to feel awesome on my birthday and to be able to enjoy a serious piece of cake. So I’ve decided to build on my healthy living challenges from 2012.

For the last year, I’ve worked really hard to make “no seconds” a habit. It’s been hard. I’ve fallen down more times than I can count, but I’m getting better. Since August, I’ve been publishing my healthy living challenge for each month. There was:

What I realised in all of this is that my problem (most of the time) tends not to be in the normal, every day stuff (that is now that the “no seconds” habit is really starting to take hold). Now my problem is in the hosting and the cooking and the cleaning up, the little bites to taste and the last bites of that really good (fill in blank here) before I put it away. Those are what really threw me off, especially as I cook more with the blog and as we host more. So here is my 2013 healthy living challenge (rules?) for the year and for January.

  1. I don’t eat seconds
  2. I don’t eat the food I’m preparing
  3. I don’t eat the food I’m cleaning up

Because… that’s not who I am, or at least – that’s not who I want to be. I want to be the girl that bakes dozens of amazing cookies, cleans up, and then with everything done savours her one AMAZING cookie and still has room for dinner. I want to be that girl that makes a mouth-watering dinner and still has room to eat it with her guests. I want to be that girl that has her cake and eats it too. So…

Counting Cupcakes

I’m counting cupcakes* – I’m choosing moderation and healthy living. I’m choosing something I can make a habit and do for a lifetime. What are you choosing? If you want to try No Seconds 2.0, my 3 healthy living rules, why not join the challenge. I turn 30 in 30 days. I’m not sure how I feel about that, but I do know that I want to feel awesome on the day. So I’m launching a 30 day “no seconds 2.0” streak challenge. 22 days is my longest “no seconds” streak so far. Think I can beat it? I think so!  Come on, let’s encourage each other. 

Now it’s your turn…

What are you doing to get 2013 off to a good start?

*I’m counting cupcakes is an initiative from Sweet Bella Roos to encourage people towards a healthier lifestyle. If you’d like meal plans and other helpful aids, head on over to her site and get inspired.

12 comments on “My 2013 Healthy Living Rules – “No Seconds 2.0” and a 30 day challenge

  1. Patty
    January 9, 2013

    (first of all, as a 40-something, I can assure you turning 30 is nothing!) Well done with your “resolutions”. I also continue with my no seconds rule (for cheese), and now I will be exercising every day (more when we meet!)

    • Jessi
      January 9, 2013

      Thank you and well done you. I can’t wait to hear about your exercise plan and to see you! I feel like it’s been forever!

  2. Leah
    January 14, 2013

    You can do it! My boyfriend and I are currently in the middle of a 30 day Paleo challenge. Good luck. 🙂

    • Jessi
      January 14, 2013

      Thanks, I’m actually really struggling getting back into a good rhythm for the new year. I feel like I keep starting over. How’s your Paleo challenge going?

      • Leah
        January 14, 2013

        No worries – You’ll hit your stride!

        Paleo is going well so far. We’re 2 weeks in! I think we’re still adjusting but overall, we feel good!

      • Jessi
        January 14, 2013

        Rock on you! Thanks for the encouragement =)

  3. Pingback: Tempting Tidbit Trials – The perfect single serving chocolate chip cookie « Doctorate Housewife

  4. Pingback: My 2013 Resolutions « Doctorate Housewife

  5. Pingback: Eat Better, Feel Fitter – February Healthy Living Challenge « Doctorate Housewife

  6. Pingback: Healthy Living Challenge Update | Doctorate Housewife

  7. Pingback: Food Scale Giveaway! | Doctorate Housewife

  8. Pingback: New Year’s Resolution Check-Up – No Seconds 2.0 and The Kitchen Safe!! | Doctorate Housewife

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 8, 2013 by in Healthy Living and tagged , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

