Doctorate Housewife

What my degree in IPE didn't teach me about baking, DIY, fitness, and life…

2013 Baking Resolutions

I’ve had a rough time getting into 2013. We got back from holiday, had a roof leak, then visitors, then I got sick, then the internet was out for 3 days. I’ve been a bit of an absent blogger and also a bit of a zombie. I’m struggling a bit with my “No Seconds 2.0” challenge and getting back into a good rhythm of sleeping, eating, and exercising. This happens to me most every year. I have a great Christmas, but it totally disrupts my habits and I struggle to start over. I’m determined to have a good start to the year 2013, so I’ve decided that the first two weeks don’t count. My resolutions will start with the second half of January (the 15th – eek that’s tomorrow) and I’ll keep assessing and brainstorming for the rest of the month. So… you’ll probably see a few more round-up and resolution posts as I plan my goals for the year.

And to start here are my 2013 baking resolutions – things I’ve never really made before that I want to give a try in the next year. Nothing fancy, but here they are

  1. Use a cookie press (spritz cookies?)
  2. Make 7 layer bars (peanut butter chocolate please)
  3. Bagel Rolls (bagel and bread together – gotta love it) UPDATE – oops conflated two resolutions. Actually what I want to do is make pretzel rolls and also try my hand yet again to make some kind of bagel. I’ve never been terribly successful before and I love love love bagels!
  4. Scones of some variety

last year’s resolutions were to make a gingerbread house – DONE!

My gingerbread houseAnd monkey bread – DONE

pumpkin monkey bread

Not high hopes, I know, but I did them and they were fun and I’m glad I did. Just like making a pumpkin bucket list got me to make loads of new pumpkin recipes, having a couple of baking goals helped to push me outside of my comfort zone.

And now you…

What are your baking/cooking resolutions for 2013?

11 comments on “2013 Baking Resolutions

  1. Patty
    January 14, 2013

    Well done you and yes, I know exactly what you mean by these two first weeks… I’ll keep on trying new cuisines (indian? african? australian?) and much more bread… a lot of bread and rolls!

    • Jessi
      January 14, 2013

      Yum – I love breads and rolls! Can’t wait to hear what you make =)

  2. myhealthyohana
    January 15, 2013

    I’m sorry it’s been a rough start to 2013. Will be praying that things settle down and you get back into a regular routine soon!

    My mom and I used to always make spritz cookies at Christmas time! I have a long list of baking/cooking goals that I keep in my phone for inspiration…I’d love to make my own pita bread, naan, and gnocchi from scratch.

    • Jessi
      January 15, 2013

      Thanks! That means a lot. Yum to pita, naan, and gnocchi. Can’t wait to see those recipes pop up on your blog =) I’m such a carb girl.

  3. Pingback: Most Temptingist Tidbits – My Favourites Still to Try « Doctorate Housewife

  4. Pingback: Temptation Tuesdays « Doctorate Housewife

  5. Pingback: 2012 Resolutions Report Card « Doctorate Housewife

  6. Pingback: My 2013 Resolutions « Doctorate Housewife

  7. Pingback: 1 Baking Resolution Down – Pretzel Rolls « Doctorate Housewife

  8. Pingback: New Year’s Resolution Update – Magic Bars, Yum Yum | Doctorate Housewife

  9. Pingback: 2013 Resolution Report Card | Doctorate Housewife

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 14, 2013 by in Recipes and tagged , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

