Doctorate Housewife

What my degree in IPE didn't teach me about baking, DIY, fitness, and life…

My Best DIY from 2012

As I think about the new year and new projects, I’m also taking time to reflect on my favourite projects of 2012. I learned a lot about electricity, plumbing, planting, even bike repair. In the coming days I’ll be posting about my DIY dreams for 2013, but in the meantime, here’s a look back at the best of 2012 (click on picture for post).

I January I took a DIY course in electricity. It turned out to be just in time to fix a dimmer switch that went bust in my epic wallpaper removal project. Yup, I have to say, scary as it was, putting in my own light switch was pretty special.

switch done

At the end of 2011, I bought a drill, but I was a little scared to use it. In 2012 I tried to tackle my fear and stop throwing my coat on the floor =p Here are a couple of posts where I get my drill on.

done

hose holder up

In 2011 (with the help of a friend) I completely dug up the back yard. So 2012 was about planting. But there was a rule – everything I planted had to give me something, preferably something to eat! So I Built planters (big and small) out of things I found or already had.

ready to plant

plant

We redid our kitchen in 2010, but it needed a few extra touches – like adding extra shelves to the kitchen cupboards.

done

And perhaps my favourite – the bench swing that I’ve wanted since I was a little girl. When the renovations get chaotic and life is stressy, it’s the perfect little escape.

done

2013 is going to be a year of some big renovations, and a lot of my time will be devoted to that. I still have some DIY projects up my sleeve though. I’ll share them with you shortly.

And now you?

What are your projects for 2013? Around the house? In the yard? Something new you want to try? Leave a comment and start the conversation =)

3 comments on “My Best DIY from 2012

  1. EmmaNutrition
    January 17, 2013

    Wow I’m impressed! Well done, especially on the bench swing.

    • Jessi
      January 17, 2013

      Thanks – I love that swing!

  2. Pingback: 2012 Resolutions Report Card « Doctorate Housewife

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 16, 2013 by in DIY and tagged , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

