Doctorate Housewife

What my degree in IPE didn't teach me about baking, DIY, fitness, and life…

Tempting Tidbit Trials – The perfect single serving chocolate chip cookie

CookiesI promised this post a long time ago when I first added these wonderful wonderful chocolate chip cookies to my Tempting Tidbits list on Temptation Tuesdays. By the way, I also want to try this one – a wonderful single serving peanut butter cookie that can be made in the microwave, totally killing the need to wait at all =p This recipe is great because it makes just 2 cookies – 2 giant, amazing, wonderful cookies. Well, here it is – the recipe and my review. As always, I’ve posted the original with my comments in my favourite colour: teal =)

Here’s what you need:

  • 2 tablespoons of butter
  • 2 firmly packed tablespoons of dark brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon of granulated sugar
  • Pinch of kosher salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon of pure vanilla extract
  • 1 egg yolk – discard or set aside egg white for a different use
  • 1/4 teaspoon of baking soda
  • 1/4 cup of all-purpose flour
  • 3 heaping tablespoons of semisweet chocolate chips  I went with speculoos cookie crumbs instead, yum
  • Frosting – because I had some left over and just wanted some frosting

 Here’s what you do:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees (I used 160C in a fan oven) and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
  2. In a microwave safe bowl, heat butter just until it starts to melt and is softened. Blend softened butter, sugars, salt, and vanilla together by hand. Add egg yolk and stir again. Add baking soda and flour and stir until combined. Then stir in chocolate chips. single serving cookie dough
  3. Form cookie dough into two balls (They were massive balls – I made this again and went with 3. still good-sized cookies) and place on baking sheet. The cookies will spread during baking, so make sure they are several inches apart. Bake for about 8 minutes, or until edges are golden brown.Massive Cookie Dough Balls
  4. Remove baking sheet from oven and give the baking sheet a firm, but careful bang on the counter top. This will deflate the cookie and give it a perfect wrinkly appearance. I forgot this bit, which is maybe why my cookies had no wrinkles – sad. I guess I’ll have to try again.Cookies
  5. Cover in frosting!Covered in frosting

These cookies are absolutely awesome, especially when you just need a cookie, but really don’t need to have a whole batch in your kitchen – something that can be deadly to my No Seconds 2.0 plan. I’m struggling with that by the way, but I’m still trying. I’m not giving up… though I might have a few more of these cookies (so happy they’re single serving =p)

3 comments on “Tempting Tidbit Trials – The perfect single serving chocolate chip cookie

  1. AmyZ, PhD
    January 21, 2013

    Hi! These look massive…and dangerous…and delicious! Great idea, but if I put the time into making cookies, I may want a full batch (but I don’t NEED a full batch, either). Conundrum.

  2. Pingback: Another Valentine’s Day Treat – Cake Pops for 2 « Doctorate Housewife

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 21, 2013 by in Recipes, Tempting Tidbit Trials.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

