Doctorate Housewife

What my degree in IPE didn't teach me about baking, DIY, fitness, and life…

2012 Resolutions Report Card

So, 2012 is definitely officially over. I guess it’s been over for a few weeks now. January is National Organisation Month. So I’ve decided to use it to get organised for 2013, to assess how 2012 went, and decide what I want to try/focus on for the new year. I’ve already given you my recipe wins from 2012 and my baking resolutions for 2013. I’ve also shared my DIY challenges from 2012 and my DIY hopes for 2013 are coming soon. I’ll give you my 2013 resolutions before the month ends. But before I get to my hopes for this year, it’s time to get my report card for last year.

report_card_1

Here goes…

  1. Read Bible all the way through – I used this online reading program for the second year in a row. I don’t know why, but I found reading on a screen a lot easier than reading from a my physical Bible.
  2. Meditation – Study after study has shown that mindful meditation is good for you. Plus, I wanted to learn to pray better and I thought I could kill 2 birds with one stone. I tried for months and built up day by day, but much like Gretchen Rubin, I just couldn’t get into it. I have a plan to improve my prayer life in 2013, but you’re going to have to wait for that post to find out what… (I know you can’t wait, right?! =p)
  3. Learn coding with free Code Year program. – I did half, 6 months of the program. Religiously, every week I would sit down for an hour or two and do the lessons. At first I found it really helpful. I even learned some HTML, which helped me understand the guts of my blog when I decided to start it last February. But then it got technical. It was taking me longer each week. I was neither enjoying it, nor seeing the usefulness. So I stopped.
  4. Get a bench swing for the yard and built it- DONE. I was really excited about this one (click on photo for post)done
  5. Take down the wallpaper upstairs –DONE, plus look what I found (click on photo for post)

    It was like it was meant to be =p

    It was like it was meant to be =p

  6. Read at least one book a month – DONE. I know that doesn’t sound like a lot. But I do a lot of reading: blogs, journal articles, newspapers, magazines. It’s just books that were missing, so I decided to be intentional about it and I made sure I read at least 1 book a month. Anyway, I did it – woot. I’ve shared a bunch of them with you and before the end of January I’ll share my favourite.
  7. Take a plumbing and electricity course! – DONE (Click on photos for post)electricity classSealing a pipe
  8. Get faster1767_KE_01215I took an awful picture (that’s me in the green), but I ran my first ever sub 30min 5k. (I know that’s not fast for most, but it was pretty awesome for me)

2012 was a good year. Now on to 2013 -resolutions to come…

And now your turn…

What’s something that you did in 2012 that you’re particularly proud of?

6 comments on “2012 Resolutions Report Card

  1. Patty
    January 23, 2013

    Hey Jessi – in my eyes, you’re a great achiever!!! I’ve copied your Bible reading plan, as that’s among my resolutions for 2013

    • Jessi
      January 23, 2013

      Awww, thanks. That’s super encouraging!

  2. myhealthyohana
    January 23, 2013

    Wow, those are some amazing accomplishments, Jessi! I love that you challenge yourself 🙂

    I really got into meditation when I was pregnant, and found that it did improve my prayer and daily life as well! Have you ever done a topical bible reading plan, and do you recommend any?

    Cheers to 2013…I’m sure you are going to do even more amazing things 🙂

    • Jessi
      January 24, 2013

      Thanks! I love getting your comments. They’re so encouraging! Do you have any tips for getting into meditation? I haven’t done much in the way of topical studies in a long time. But this year I thought I’d try a thematic read through the Bible program. It’s here: http://www.biblestudytools.com/bible-reading-plan/

  3. Pingback: My 2013 Resolutions « Doctorate Housewife

  4. Pingback: Best of 2013 | Doctorate Housewife

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 23, 2013 by in Healthy Living and tagged , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

