Doctorate Housewife

What my degree in IPE didn't teach me about baking, DIY, fitness, and life…

An Ode to Peanut Butter – National Peanut Butter Lover’s Day

I have a confession to make. If you’ve been reading my blog for awhile, it shouldn’t come as a surprise at all! Anyway, here goes: My name is Jessi and I heart peanut butter! Today is a very special day in my annual calendar – National Peanut Butter Lover’s Day!

Peanut butter is a semi-solid and can therefor...

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Yes, I’m one of the those Americans that  grew up eating it pretty much every day. It was either lunch – in the form of pb&j (always Smucker’s Strawberry Preserves btw) , or pb&honey when I got tired of the jam, or dinner or snack – can you say ants on a log anyone?! (That’s peanut butter on celery sticks with raisins in case you’re wondering)

ants on a log

ants on a log (Photo credit: amanky)

When Halloween came along (or I guess I should say COMES along) each year, my candy preference and trading strategy were  (are) clear: all the Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups, Reese’s Pieces, and Butterfinger were naturally for me. You can have the Nerds, Smarties, Gobstoppers, Mounds, Almond Joys etc… just save the peanut butter chocolate combo for me (well, ok – I also have a serious sweet spot for candy corn, but that’s another story). Feeling deprived here in Belgium, I even tried to make my own Butterfinger, and my candy experiments were all about the pb & chocolate combos.

English: Peanut butter cups, sticks, and piece...

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

When I started running, I made a wonderful, wonderful discovery: peanut butter is a great runner’s food. In fact, one of the favourite (and best) pre-race foods among runners is peanut butter and banana on a bagel or whole wheat toast, score!

Yup, that's me, fueled by peanut butter =p

Yup, that’s me, fueled by peanut butter =p

Something that makes me sad though…

is the all too common misconception that peanut butter isn’t good for you. Yes, it’s true that it is calorie dense (180-210 calories per serving), but it packs a serious nutritional punch. It’s full of vitamin E, magnesium, potassium, and the immunity boosting vitamin B6. Though heavy on the fat, it’s the good kind – monounsaturated. And with a great ratio of fiber to protein, it keeps you fuller longer, reducing the amount of calories you eat overall. Numerous studies have shown that people who regularly eat nuts (particularly peanut butter) are less likely to develop heart disease and type 2 diabetes. Plus peanut butter has boron, which is a bone-builder and it has sterols, which helps reduce your cholesterol. In short, peanut butter is a healthy part of a good diet. So go eat some!

If you need any help figuring out fun ways to eat it, here are a few options you might like =)

I’m not guaranteeing these are healthy though =p  (click on pictures for recipe and post)

mmmm peanut butter!

chocolate peanut butter fudge ripple ice cream

peanut speculoos caramel butter

peanut speculoos caramel butter

Peanut butter truffle blondie chocolate cupcakes

Peanut butter truffle blondie chocolate cupcakes

You might also like…

Peanut Butter plus 4 other foods that get a bad rap

7 comments on “An Ode to Peanut Butter – National Peanut Butter Lover’s Day

  1. AmyZ, PhD
    January 24, 2013

    Wow-these pictures just made me want to go get my peanut butter out of the cabinet. Actually, lately I have been into almond butter, but nothing against pb. What is that peanut caramel butter btw? looks amazing!

    • Jessi
      January 24, 2013

      Thanks! Almond butter is good too. Actually I’m quite partial to half cashew half peanut butter. Anyway, peanut caramel butter is a concoction I dreamed up one night. It’s super yummy. Just click on the picture for the recipe =)

  2. Leah
    January 24, 2013

    I used to love peanut butter too! Now that I’m on Paleo, I’ve been informed that peanuts aren’t nuts. Isn’t that INSANE? Apparently they’re legumes and are a no-no on Paleo. Soooo I’ve been dabbling in almond butter and cashew butter and have absolutely fallen in love with cashew butter!

    • Jessi
      January 24, 2013

      Yum cashew butter. Yeah – I’d heard that about peanuts actually being more pea than nut. I’ve heard of Paleo, but I thought it was more about a natural diet. Why can’t you have legumes? I would think they would fall under the healthy natural fiber category?

      • Leah
        January 24, 2013

        No legumes because they’re really high in carbs. You’re right – Paleo is focused on a natural diet, like how cavemen used to eat (preagricultural times). The main focus is on grass-fed meat, wild-caught fish, fresh veggies, and healthy fats. No carbs (unless natural like from fruit), dairy, legumes, or refined sugar.

      • Jessi
        January 24, 2013

        Hmm, interesting. Thanks for explaining =)

  3. Pingback: Temptation Tuesdays « Doctorate Housewife

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 24, 2013 by in Healthy Living, Nutrition, Recipes and tagged , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

