Doctorate Housewife

What my degree in IPE didn't teach me about baking, DIY, fitness, and life…

Best Books of 2012

As promised, here are my top read books of 2012. Resolution to read at least 1 book a month – complete! Most months it was no big deal. Some months, I really struggled to finish something that was boring the life out of me. In the course of this project though, I learned another important lesson: how to abandon a book. I’ve never liked doing that. Good or bad I preferred to finish what I started. But sometimes something really is just a waste of time and my sense of commitment (normally a good thing) is misdirected into something useless. So this resolution resulted in at least 2 good things: 1 – I read some really great books and learned a lot of neat stuff (yes, I said neat – I’m a nerd from the 80s apparently), and 2 – I learnt how to abandon something not worthwhile (or at least a book that’s not worthwhile). Well, here it is 7 books I can completely recommend!

 

Coffee is Bad Good For You By Robery J Davis is a great little book. It takes a close look at nutrition studies from the last decade or so and debunks some of those common misconceptions in clear, simple language. Is coffee good for you? What’s the deal with hydrogenated fats? What about the incredible edible egg? Curious?! You’ll have to read the book =)51WhYIudMsL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA300_SH20_OU01_

The Power of Habit by Charles Duhigg breaks down the mystery of our routines. It breaks down into cue, routine, reward. He talks about how to establish healthy habits, how to change unwanted habits, and how to use habits to create positive cultures in work, home, and society. It’s really interesting and really useful if you’re trying to overcome that 3pm snack attack.51oqw8x58FL._SS400_

The Willpower Instinct by Kelly McGonigal was a good one to read after the habit book. She breaks willpower down into 3 categories: I want power (your motivation I want to be X) I will power (the power to do something you don’t want to do, i.e. exercise) and I won’t power (the power to not do something that tempts you, i.e. eat all the cookies). She has a lot of good, practical tips to strengthen the self-control muscle. As I try to establish (or re-establish) healthy habits for 2013, I should really review my notes on this one.41j45nTFO4L._SS500_
Brain Trust by Garth Sundem is just fun. It’s got short reviews of quirky science studies. Seriously, go pick it up – it’ll entertain you to no end. Like this – you know those captcha things, do you know what they’re really for? 51a3Vs3vIAL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA300_SH20_OU01_
What Good is God by Phillip Yancy goes beyond the Christian cliches and takes a look at some of those questions that pop up when real life inevitably gets messy. It’s an excellent read.510zQVFv+HL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA278_PIkin4,BottomRight,-66,22_AA300_SH20_OU01_

The Righteous Mind by Jonathan Haidt is a great read in the wake of a hotly contested election. It looks at how both sides can claim to be running on “values” and why we should take a second before we go and label the other side as evil…415s9ngszNL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA278_PIkin4,BottomRight,-65,22_AA300_SH20_OU01_
The First 20 Minutes by Gretchen Reynolds is like the coffee book, but for exercise. It’s got the results of all sorts of exercise studies and lots of reasons to get you off the couch and into your sneakers. Among my favourites is the story of the squirts.51c2kSodEUL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA278_PIkin4,BottomRight,-65,22_AA300_SH20_OU01_

And now your turn?

What is your favourite book from 2012?

One comment on “Best Books of 2012

  1. Edel Gonzalez
    January 25, 2013

    Reblogged this on PurpleWig.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 25, 2013 by in Uncategorized.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

